This is the "Home" page of the "HS 105: Survery of Common Diseases (Olmsted/Slizewski)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

HS 105: Survery of Common Diseases (Olmsted/Slizewski)   Tags: health sciences  

Last Updated: Aug 29, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/HS105_olmsted Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Consumer Oriented/Popular Magazines

Appearance: Usually has bright, attractive cover; many glossy pictures and ads.

Articles: Typically under 10 pages. Few or no notes or references. Written by a staff writer or a journalist; name sometimes not provided; usually no author credits.

 

Scholarly/Peer Reviewed/Juried Journals

Appearance: Serious, with few colors or no advertisements; often includes words like "Journal", "Quarterly", Proceedings".

Articles: Typically over 10 pages. Includes notes and extensive references or bibliography. Written by an expert or a specialist in the field; author name(s) and credentials provided.  Frequently an abstract is present.

Finding Consumer Oriented Health Articles

Browse print magazines -- 2nd floor of library

  • Environmental Health News
  • Environmental Nutrition
  • Mayo Clinic Health Letter
  • Self
  • University of California, Berkely, Wellness Letter
  • Newsweek
  • Time

Browse online magazine -- Journal Titles A-Z (from library webpage)

Use an electronic database to search for consumer oriented health articles by a specific disease or condition.  Many of the articles included in the electronic databases are full text.

  • Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
    A collection of consumer health information that provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. It also includes searchable full text for more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and 130 health reference books.

Finding Scholarly Journal Articles

Use an electronic database to search for scholarly journal articles by a specific disease or condition.  Many of the articles included in the electronic databases are full text.

 

  • CINAHL Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
    Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, and consumer health.
  • Medline (EBSCO)
    Research authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Library Liaison

Profile Image
Mindy King
Contact Info
LRC 305A
(715) 346-2321
mking@uwsp.edu
Send Email
 

Class Handout

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip