Citation Management Tools
If you use a citation management tool, be sure to review your results carefully. You are ultimately responsible for the accuracy of the citations in your paper. If in doubt, refer to the appropriate style manual for definitive information.
- EasyBibEasyBib is a free browser-based tool for creating citations and entire bibliographies in MLA style. Users can input references in order to create automated citations and make a bibliography. Other citation styles are supported for a fee.
- EndNoteSoftware that allows you to organize and retrieve literature for research, teaching and publication. Possible uses include: compile reading lists for courses, create bibliographies in a variety of publication styles, cite sources while you write, generate lists of authors' addresses and email addresses.
- KnightCiteA free, reliable and efficient citation generator that supports MLA, APA, and Chicago style formatting. Cites a wide variety of sources including, books, anthologies, multimedia, periodicals, communications, and online sources.
- ZoteroZotero is a free, open source utility that works in the Firefox browser to help users collect, manage and cite sources.
Need Research Help?
Ask a Librarian!
| By Phone: 715-346-2836 | |
| By Email: librefd@uwsp.edu |
|
| In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor | |
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
|
Citation Styles
APA Style
- This APA Style Guide is based on the citation rules outlined in the Publication Manual of the "American Psychological Association" [BF76.7 .P83 2010]. It includes examples. Source: UWSP University Library.
- The APA Electronic References site answers commonly asked questions about citing online resources. Source: APA.
CSE Style
-
Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. Source: Council of Science Editors.
Chicago Style
-
This site provides an introduction to the 16th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.
MLA Style
-
This MLA Style Guide is based on the MLA Handbook. Source: UWSP University Library.
-
The MLA Handbook Frequently Asked Questions page provides the only guidelines available on the Internet that are authorized by the MLA (Modern Language Association of America). Source: MLA.
Virtual Reference Desk Resources
Be sure to consult these additional resources about copyright rules and plagiarism from the Library Home Page's Virtual Reference Desk.
Additional Citing Guides
Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications
This guide provides examples of the most common instances of government document citations based on the Chicago/Turabian standard bibliographic style. Source: Government Publications Department, Regional Depository Library, The University of Memphis.
Provides links to a number of style guides, including tips on quoting and paraphrasing sources. Source: UW-Madison's Writing Center.
Citing Sources, Guide to Library Research
Primarily a resource for how to cite sources using APA, Chicago Style, MLA, and Turabian, this site also links to information on choosing a topic, refining it, and evaluating source materials. Source: Duke University.
EasyBib guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago Style
Citation guides for the latest editions of MLA and APA with examples.
Karla’s Guide to Citation Style Guides
Links to lots of style guides for electronic citation including APA, Chicago, MLA, Turabian, and CBE. Source: Karla Tonella, University of Iowa.
Purdue OWL: Documenting Electronic Sources
This site contains additional links to citations in different disciplines, links to other resources about citing Internet resources, and overviews of different styles, especially APA and MLA. Source: Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Loading...
