This is the "Home" page of the "How to Cite " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Cite   Tags: citing sources, how-to guides  

A collection of guides to assist you in citing sources
Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/citation Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search@UW

Search@UW 

Try our new discovery tool where you can find books in the UWSP collection, full text articles from scholarly journals and magazines, online videos, as well as photographs, documents and maps from the UW digitial collections. 

Then, with one click, go beyond our holdings at UWSP and order books from other UW libraries and search for articles beyond our subscriptions. Search@UW is multidisciplinary, so it's a great starting point for research across all majors.  It can be a real time saver, since it combines what have historically been separate search venues in a single site, making your search experience faster and easier.

 

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian!

By Phone: 715-346-2836
By Email:
librefd@uwsp.edu
In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Citation Styles

APA Style

CSE Style

Chicago Style

MLA Style

  • This MLA Style Guide is based on the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition (2009). Source: UWSP University Library.
  • The MLA Handbook Frequently Asked Questions page provides the only guidelines available on the Internet that are authorized by the MLA (Modern Language Association of America).  To view the Handbook itself, click here.  The logon is lrcrefde@uwsp.edu, and the password is uwsp. Source: MLA.
     
 

Copyright and Plagiarism

Be sure to consult these additional resources about copyright rules and plagiarism.

Copyright Guide

Plagiarism Resources

Citation Management Tools

If you use a citation management tool, be sure to review your results carefully. You are ultimately responsible for the accuracy of the citations in your paper. If in doubt, refer to the appropriate style manual for definitive information.

  • EasyBib
    EasyBib is a free browser-based tool for creating citations and entire bibliographies in MLA style. Users can input references in order to create automated citations and make a bibliography. Other citation styles are supported for a fee.
  • EndNote
    Software that allows you to organize and retrieve literature for research, teaching and publication. Possible uses include: compile reading lists for courses, create bibliographies in a variety of publication styles, cite sources while you write, generate lists of authors' addresses and email addresses.
  • KnightCite
    A free, reliable and efficient citation generator that supports MLA, APA, and Chicago style formatting. Cites a wide variety of sources including, books, anthologies, multimedia, periodicals, communications, and online sources.
  • Zotero
    Zotero is a free, open source utility that works in the Firefox browser to help users collect, manage and cite sources.
 

Additional Citing Guides

Brief Guide to Citing Government Publications

This guide provides examples of the most common instances of government document citations based on the Chicago/Turabian standard bibliographic style. Source: Government Publications Department, Regional Depository Library, The University of Memphis.

Citing References

Provides links to a number of style guides, including tips on quoting and paraphrasing sources. Source: UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Citing Sources, Guide to Library Research

Primarily a resource for how to cite sources using APA, Chicago Style, MLA, and Turabian, this site also links to information on choosing a topic, refining it, and evaluating source materials. Source: Duke University.

EasyBib guides to MLA, APA, and Chicago Style

Citation guides for the latest editions of MLA and APA with examples.

Purdue OWL: Documenting Electronic Sources

This site contains additional links to citations in different disciplines, links to other resources about citing Internet resources, and overviews of different styles, especially APA and MLA. Source: Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL). 

Teachbytes: How to Cite Social Media: MLA & APA Formats

Contains a useful and easy to use guide that encompases a variety of different social media citations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip