This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 202: "Finding Biographical Information" (Lorenz-Schumacher/Wolfe)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 202: "Finding Biographical Information" (Lorenz-Schumacher/Wolfe)   Tags: biography, course guides, english  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/content.php?pid=189047 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books, Videos, and More

Use the library catalog to find relevant books and other library material. Remember to use Universal Borrowing to find books in other UW Libraries!


Search Hint: Perform a keyword search combining the subject's first and last names, and include the word biography, e.g. William Shakespeare biography.
 

Collective Biographies

Collective biographies contain biographical information on more than one person.  To find them, search the catalog using a subject term and the word biography.  Example:  musicians biography

Cover Art
American National Biography
Call Number: Ref E176 .A43 1999
ISBN: 0195206355

Cover Art
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: Ref DA28 .O95 2004
ISBN: 9780198614111
The granddaddy of British biography.

Genealogy: Ancestry.com

Biographical Indexes and Databases

 

General Indexes and Databases

These all-purpose databases help you to discover biographical information published in periodicals, like magazines.

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers contain biographical information, like obituaries.

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand logoFilms on Demand

A new product to the library, Films on Demand provides films that are time-indexed for showing in the classroom or posting online for your students.  You can choose an entire film, or a section or chapter of a film to view. 

Reference Databases

  • Credo Reference
    More reliable than Wikipedia, search this collection of reference sources for articles on your biographee. Includes online versions of Who's Who.
  • Reference Universe (Paratext)
    Use this source to search the indexes of hundreds of reference books at one time.

Librarian

UWSP Library Homepage

 

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian!

By Phone: 715-346-2836
By Email:
librefd@uwsp.edu
In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip