A listing of databases being considered for purchase by UWSP or by the UW System libraries
Be sure to note which database you are referring to in the Comments field.
Try the following trial databases and use the feedback form to the left to let us know what you think. Most of the databases are only available on campus.
- Academic Search Complete
Includes full text for over 9,000 journals.
- Cambridge Companions Online
Cambridge Companions provide introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods such as Plato, Luther, Jane Austen, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature. Each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.
- CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL, an increase of more than 600 journals from our current CINAHL product. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
- eBook Academic Collection (Ebsco)
An ebook subscription package with a large selection of multidisciplinary titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. More than 113,000 titles are included—all titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are added to the package each month at no additional cost.
- Gale Nursing Databases
Nursing Resource Center - includes drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.
Health & Wellness Resource Center - Contains scholarly and popular articles on all aspects of medicine, health, and alternative health. Also includes health-related videos, medical & alternative health encyclopedias, health assessment tools, and a drug and herb finder, and over 400 full-text medical journals and fitness magazines.
Health Reference Center (Academic) - Provides over 160 full-text journals in medicine, nursing, allied and consumer health. Includes full-text reference books, pamphlets, overviews of clinical topics, and indexing and abstracts for over 1500 additional titles covering patient and consumer health information.
Alternate Links that require GIS software, such as ArcGIS:WMS appWCS app
PsycCRITIQUES, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books. PsycCRITIQUES includes nearly 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956. Trial runs through 6/30/2013
PsycEXTRA, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. Trial runs through 6/30/2013
- Routledge Performance Archive
Trial active until 3/8/2013
The Routledge Performance Archive is a developing resource produced in partnership with Digital Theatre, providing access to a wide range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. he video material spans more than fifty years of documented work direct from renowned practitioners and specialists, and ranges across the entire spectrum of theatre topics.