This guide features library databases containing biographical information, descriptions of works of literature, literary criticism, and library catalog information to help you with your children's literature assignments.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
This database contains full text information about authors and their works.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale)
Use this source to read full text or excerpts of literary criticism. To focus only on criticism of children's literature, select Children's Literature Review. No reviews are more recent than 2008.
- Horn Book Guide
The Horn Book Guide Online is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating assigned the book in the original Horn Book review. Also contains short critical reviews of books published between 1989-2011.
- Horn Book Magazine
In their own words, "Independent, opinionated, and stylish, The Horn Book Magazine has long been essential for everyone who cares about children's and young adult literature. Our articles are lively, our reviews are insightful, our editorials are always sharp. We have gathered current and archival material to give you a taste of what we've been offering since 1924. Dig in."
- Education Full Text (EBSCO)
Contains some full text articles about authors and their works, as well as some book reviews. One way to find the latter is to search "books reviewed."
- Kirkus Reviews
Use this site to find book reviews. If the full text is not available from this page, search for the review in either Ebscohost Academic Search Premier (from 2001-present, see below) or Lexis-Nexis Academic (from 1991-present).
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
Look here for biographical profiles and articles about authors.
- LitFinder (Gale)
LitFinder provides full-text access to thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in the areas of Literature, History, Economics, Sociology, Art & Architecture, Philosophy, Psychology, Science, and Drama dating back to the 9th Century BCE.
- NoveList K-8 (EBSCO)
This source lists books but not much more. Subject searches can help locate novels by theme and topic.
- Horn Book Guide
The Horn Book Guide Online is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating assigned the book in the original Horn Book review.