- ABI Inform (Proquest - Full Text)
A business information index that includes the full text of major business periodicals and news sources, regional and local business publications from Dateline, and many other publications with a specific industry focus. Use the BROWSE button for access to First Research, BMI Industry, EIU Commodity reports, SWOT reports.
- Academic (Lexis-Nexis - Full Text)
LEXIS-NEXIS® Academic provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Also includes company profiles and Contemporary Women's Issues database
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
A multi-disciplinary database, with full-text coverage of thousands of academic journals and trade publications in the sciences, arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Accessible Archives (Full Text)
Primary source materials from 18th and 19th Century Publications. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical information.
- African American Music Reference (AAMR - Full Text)
A resource with texts, songsheets, images, and other print resources, including information on Black composers, African American iconography and a collection of spirituals and slave lyrics.
- African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Newsbank - Full Text)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
- African American Periodicals 1825-1995 (Newsbank - Full Text)
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features articles from academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
- AGRICOLA Article Citation Database (NAL)
the Catalog of the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. It abstracts articles, audiovisual materials, books, book chapters, computer databases and software, maps, manuscripts, serials, and sound recordings.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO - Full Text)
A database of Patient Advisory Leaflets from Lexi-Comp that provides information on medications for patients in a question-and-answer format.
- Alt-HealthWatch (EBSCO - Full Text)
A full text database of articles, research reports, and association newsletters focused on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Full Text)
Search historically significant 18th, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including big-city dailies, regional publications. Includes William Lloyd Garrison's The Liberator, and the North Star founded by Frederick Douglass.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)
An index of literature, primarily in the form of periodical articles, covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- American Chemical Society Publications Journals (Full Text)
This database includes scholarly articles published in over 30 American Chemical Society journals spanning all subjects of chemical sciences.
- American History in Video (ASP)
Videos and transcripts of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries from PBS, WGBH Boston, The History Channel, and the National Archives.
- Ancestry - Library Edition (Full Text)
Genealogical research database that includes the U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; the Map Center; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.
- Anthropological Index Online (AIO)
An index to anthropology journals in The Centre for Anthropology Library at the The British Museum.
- Applied Science and Technology Full Text (EBSCO - Full Text)
ASTI provides indexing and full text content from journals and magazines from a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics to aeronautics to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering .
- Art Full Text (EBSCO - Full Text)
Indexing and full text content for articles from journals and magazines on artists, indexing of art reproductions and examples of styles and movements in art. Covers Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art.
- ARTFL-Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (Full Text)
Includes ARTFL-FRANTEXT, French Women Writers, Provençal Poetry, Textes de Français Ancien (TFA), The Journal de Trévoux, ou Mémoires pour l'Histoire des Sciences & des Beaux-Arts and other individual French reference works.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
- ARTstor (Digital Images)
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching
- ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality (CSA/Proquest)
Indexes research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
- Associations Unlimited (Full Text)
Provides full contact information, description, SIC codes, meetings and publications information for international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
- ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO)
An index compiled by the American Theological Library Association which covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Auto Repair Reference Center (Full Text)
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954, including technical service bulletins & recalls, wiring diagrams, specifications & maintenance schedules, factory drawings and step-by-step photographs.
- Bacteriology: Microbiology Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Indexes articles on topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, with clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics.
A digital collections of books, images, articles, audio and video from around the world, including many primary source materials. The collections are curated and arranged by subject
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
- Biography Reference Bank Select (EBSCO - Full Text)
Information on people in the news and history-makers, including images. Includes content from Current Biography, World Authors series, Junior Authors & Illustrators series, Nobel Prize Winners series, Facts About Presidents and Speeches of the American Presidents.
- Biological Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from every life sciences discipline, including biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary science. Coverage is from 1926 to the present.
- BioOne (Full Text)
A full text databases with articles from high-impact bioscience research journals including the topics of ecology, economic botany, entomology, environmental science, evolutionary biology, fish, genetics, mammals, microbiology, natural history, ornithology, paleontology, and parasitology, with articles primarily from 2000 to present
- Bizjournals: The Business Journal (Full Text)
Links to American City Business Journals publications including the Business Journal (Milwaukee) and the Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal. Content includes local business news, current headlines, job listings and advice. Includes the Book of Lists, containing the names and contact information of hundreds of rank-ordered companies.
- Black Drama, 1850-present (ASP - Full Text)
Contains the full text of 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print.
- Black Studies in Video (ASP)
An Alexander Street Press video collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including films about African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
- Book Collection Nonfiction High School Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides accesss to abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books for high school students covering careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, music, science, history, civics and more.
- Book Collection Nonfiction Middle School Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides abstracts and searchable full text for popular nonfiction books for middle school students, with coverage on careers, health, ethnicity, disabilities, technology, biographies, history, science, women, civics and more.
- Book Collection: Nonfiction: Elementary School Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
A cross-curricular collection that provides content representing a wide spectrum of works, including popular series and coverage of core areas as well as careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective (1905-1982) (EBSCO)
An index to book reviews with excerpts, and abstracts of reviews from popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals as well as library review sources.
- Books in Print
The publishing industry’s database of record offering more than 4.5 million in print, forthcoming, audio, video and out-of-print titles, plus access to annotations, tables of contents, cover images, awards, full-text reviews and Connections readers advisory services.
- Brill E-Book Collection (Full Text)
Academic e-books from a leading publisher in the humanities and social sciences.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries 1500-1950 (ASP - Full Text)
Primary historical sources covering the life experiences of 201 women, as revealed in approximately 38,000 pages of diaries and letters from 1500-1900.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCO - Full Text)
Business Source Premier is a full text business database, covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. It includes over 2,300 full text journals, company profiles, country reports, market research reports and company SWOT analyses.
- Catalog of US Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online
- Choice Reviews (Full Text)
Provides access to Choice academic book reviews, which provides reviews for books of interest to those in higher education.
- Chronicle of Higher Education (Full Text)
One of the primary sources of information on higher education including news, feature articles, opinion pieces, job listings, daily news and advice columns. discussion forums, and career-building tools such as online CV management and salary databases.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Full Text)
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
- CINAHL Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
Includes full text articles from nursing & allied health journals and a current awareness service for recently published articles.
- ClinicalKey (Elsevier)
A comprehensive clinical medical e-library from Elsevier, which includes books, journals, and online videos.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides cover-to-cover indexing, abstracts and full text for core journals in communications, including mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory and advertising.
- Conference Papers Index (CSA)
Citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.
- Congressional Publications including the Serial Set and Hearings
Collection of Congressional publications from the late 18th century to the present, including American State Papers, the Serial Set, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, US Code, the Congressional Record and Congressional Hearings from 1824-present.
- Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides consumer-oriented health content designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
- Contemporary Authors (Full Text)
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (Lexis-Nexis - Full Text)
Provides full-text access to global information on women in over 190 countries, bringing together content from mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and the alternative press. Topics include human rights; violence and exploitation; education; workplace; family life; legal status; health; reproductive rights; gender equity; and lesbian concerns, among others.
- COS Funding Opportunities
A compilation of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding, with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline, from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies and corporations.
- COS Papers Invited
An alerting service for calls for papers for upcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals.
- COS Scholar Universe
Provides authoritative information about scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information.
- CQ Researcher Online (CQ Press - Full Text)
This weekly publication provides in-depth reports on current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Credo Reference (Full Text)
A collection of hundreds of reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles across a wide range of disciplines. Some sources feature customizable and interactive tables.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Indexing and abstracts of journals from around the world on criminal justice and criminology.
- Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)
The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE) documents words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another place across the United States. The entries in DARE include regional pronunciations, variant forms, some etymologies, and regional and social distributions of the words and phrases.
- Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (ASP)
Includes seminal primary works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras including theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other key documents from this critical epoch in European history.
- Digital Library of the Classic Protestant Texts (ASP)
Provides full text access to primary, seminal religious works including theoological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other works by hundreds of Protestant authors
- Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970)
Digital Sanborn Maps – Wisconsin provides digital access to 1348 large-scale maps of 273 Wisconsin towns and cities, including Amherst, Stevens Point, Wausau, Waupaca, Marshfield, Madison, Milwaukee, Green Bay, and many others.
- Early encounters in North America (ASP - Full Text)
A collection of primary documents related to early encounters of North American Indian, European, American, and African peoples and cultures. The documents include letters, diaries, memoirs, accounts of early encounters, as well as images.
- Early English Books Online - EEBO (Proquest - Full Text)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO - Full Text)
Ebsco's eBook Collection offers the content of thousands of book in an electronic format. Formerly called NetLibrary. Adobe digital editions is required to download e-books.
- EBSCOHost (All databases)
The entire list of indexes and databases available from EBSCO. To search more than one database, select one by clicking on the title, click the Choose Databases option next to the database title, then click in the box next to the titles you'd like to search.
- Ecology Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds interact with their environments and with other organisms. Coverage ranges from habitats to food chains, from erosion to land reclamation, resource and ecosystems management, growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, pollution and climate change.
- EconLit (EBSCO)
The American Economic Association's database, which includes abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press. Topics include accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides access to the full text of core education journals. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing, curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides indexing of articles related to educational administration, including leadership, management and educational research.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Full Text)
Includes the searchable full-text of nearly 150,000 English-language titles published between 1701-1800. Currently covers four subject areas: History and Geography; Social Science and Fine Arts; Medicine, Science and Technology; Literature and Language.
- EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)
EIS extracts the key issues from government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts. Each entry includes a description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates.
- Emerald Journals (Full Text)
Emerald Journals provides access to over 200 titles in the fields of management, information science, medicine, social sciences and engineering.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica (Badgerlink)
Encyclopaedia articles and multimedia items including video and audio files, maps, illustrations, photos, primary source documents, ebooks, and recommended websites.
- Encyclopedia Judaica (Full Text)
A leading source for information on the Jewish people, the Jewish faith, and the state of Israel.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Includes coverage of literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
- Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management (CSA/Proquest)
This multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Allows the user to search across all of the CSA abstract databases related to environmental sciences.
- ERIC (EBSCO - Full Text)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), is the world's largest digital library of education literature, including journal articles, reports, and other education-related materials.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (USDE)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), is the world's largest digital library of education literature, including journal articles, reports, and other education-related materials.
- Ethnographic Video Online (ASP)
A film resource for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world, and featuring the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, food, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, families, politics, conflict, religion, music and the arts.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Publications indexed in the database are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Coverage is from 1970 to date.
- Filmakers Library Online (ASP)
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
- Films on Demand (Films Media Group)
Films on Demand provides online access to educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines.
- Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide (EBSCO)
Provides coverage of thousands of journal articles, monographs, conference proceedings, symposia, government reports, and dissertations covering research on aquaculture species ranging from culture and propagation to genetics, behavior, ecology and habitat, with coverage back to the 1970's.
- Forestry Abstracts
Provides indexing and abstracts covering all aspects of forestry, including land use and conservation, including Silviculture, forest management, fire, genetics, mycology and pathology, insects, wildlife, soil conservation, arboriculture, dendrochronology and dendroclimatology.
- Foundation Directory
Provides detailed information on US grant funders and their grants.
- Foundation Grants to Individuals
Find sources for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards and other financial support from foundations for individuals. Please ask the reference librarian for a logon account to access this database. Be sure to LOG OUT when you are finished. This database is licensed for one user at a time.
- Foundations in Wisconsin
Provides searchable profiles of active grantmaking foundations in Wisconsin.
- Funk and Wagnalls New Encyclopedia (EBSCO - Full Text)
A general purpose encyclopedia, providing a basic introduction to a wide range of topics.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL - Full Text)
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of specialized reference sources in a variety of academic areas including Asian studies, Religion, History, Food & Nutrition, and Biology.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music online (ASP - Full Text)
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples, including essays, images audio examples.
- GenderWatch (ProQuest - Full Text)
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, culture, health, history, political science, and gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other reports and proceedings.
- GEOBASE (OCLC)
A multidisciplinary database of research literature on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management, and nature conservation.
- Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Proquest - Full Text)
A cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes many primary sources from around the world.
- Gilded Age, The (ASP - Full Text)
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides primary documents on key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO - Full Text)
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Harper's Weekly - 1857-1912 (Full Text)
This index to Harper's Weekly full-text provides access to the comprehensive week-to-week chronological record of what happened world-wide in the last half of the 19th century.
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Includes coverage of public health, safety, and industrial hygiene topics across the spectrum of environmental and occupational situations in the fields of aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, and ergonomics.
- Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
A collection of consumer health information from magazines, pamphlets, reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, clinical reference systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
This resource provides indexing and full text articles from scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
- HeritageQuest Online (Proquest - Full Text)
Combines searchable text and images of all federal censuses (1790-1930), Revolutionary War records, African-American history, genealogy and local history monographs, and portions of the U.S. Serial Set.
- Highwire Press (Full Text)
Search journals published by Highwire Press.
- Historic Map Works (Proquest)
A collection of full color digital historic maps including cadastral, land ownership maps detailing the geographic and development history of the United States over several hundred years. There is extensive coverage of rural and suburban areas, as well as cities and towns across America.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO - Full Text)
A full text history reference database designed for schools, public libraries and undergraduate research, which includes reference books, history magazines and journals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps; and historical video.
- Hoover's Online (Full Text)
An indepth tool for company and industry research that covers public, private, and international companies. Includes overviews, major industry trends, industry links, and IPO information.
- Horn Book Guide
Short, critical reviews of books for children and young adults published since 1989. The reviews identify strengths and weaknesses and ratings. The database is searchable by author, illustrator, title, subject, and bibliographic data, as well as by rating assigned the book in the original Horn Book review.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books in the humanities, including all data from Humanities International Index.
- IDNT: International Dietetics & Nutrition Terminology Reference Manual
The online International Dietetics Nutrition & Terminology (IDNT) Reference Manual, 4th Edition, connects you with the resources you need to implement the Nutrition Care Process (NCP).
- IEEE Xplore (Full Text)
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
- IMSLP Petrucci Music Library (Full Text)
A virtual library containing public domain music, both scores and recordings that is searchable and browsable by composer, nationality, time period, genre, and instrumentation
- In the First Person (ASP - Full Text)
In the First Person is a free, high quality, professionally published, in-depth index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
- Industrial and Applied Microbiology (A) Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Indexes journal articles that report significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
- Ingenta Connect
Ingentaconnect.com is a multi-disciplinary service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.
- Jazz Discography
Provides comprehensive nformation about jazz records and jazz recording sessions, listed by bandleader name and including the date, location, the titles of each tune recorded plus the names of all supporting musicians and the instrument(s) they played.
- JSTOR (Full Text)
An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
- LearningExpress Library (Full Text)
Resources on test preparation and test-taking skills for the PPST and graduate school examinations such as the GRE, GMAT, MCAT and LSAT and exams in health care, teaching, real estate, and law enforcement. K-12 students can practice math, reading, and writing skills and prepare for the ACT, SAT, Advanced Placement, PSAT and TOEFL, CLEP and other college placement exams.
- Legislative Insight (Proquest)
A compilation of the publications generated during congressional lawmaking including the full text of the public law, all versions of related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints, presidential signing statements, and other related information.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCO - Full Text)
Indexes periodicals, research reports and proceedings in librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO - Full Text)
A full text database with information on thousands of authors and their works across multiple literary disciplines and timeframes. The content includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, author interviews, and classic texts.
- Literature Criticism Online (Gale - Full Text)
An archive of entries from ten literary criticism series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism and Children's Literature Review.
- LitFinder (Gale - Full Text)
Provides full-text access to thousands of poems, short stories, essays, plays, and speeches in the areas of Literature, History, Economics, Sociology, Art & Architecture, Philosophy, Psychology, Science, and Drama dating back to the 9th Century BCE.
- MAS Ultra - School Edition (EBSCO - Full Text)
A general database designed specifically for high school libraries.
- MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides indexing and full text articles on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health, education and current events. Full text dates as far back as 1990.
- MathSciNet (AMS)
A comprehensive database indexing the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years, including reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications.
- MDConsult (Full Text)
A clinical information resource that includes medical books, full-text articles, peer-reviewed clinical practice guidelines, customizable patient education handouts, as well as drug information and Category 1 CME modules from 1995-present.
- Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
- Media Studies & Communication Video Collection
This collection from the Media Education Foundation consists of the films that address issues of media ownership and its effect on content, representation, advertising, journalism, and other issues central to media studies. It is a must-have for Communication and Media Studies Departments and excellent for Journalism, Sociology, and Anthropology Departments.
- Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is a comprehensive index to journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences.
- Medline (PubMed)
PubMed is the free online equivalent to Medline, a comprehensive index to journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)
Mental Measurements Yearbook from the Buros Institute is a guide to testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. Tests in Print (TIP) is a bibliography to tests that includes test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, test authors and a score index.
- Middle Search Plus (EBSCO - Full Text)
An index designed specifically for middle school libraries.
- Military & Government Collection (EBSCO - Full Text)
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government through a collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other publications.
- MLA Directory of Periodicals
Contains directory and publication information on journals and book series in the MLA International Bibliography.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
A detailed bibliography and index to journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Music Index (EBSCO)
Provides indexing of journals and other publications about music. Coverage spans from 1976 to the present.
- Nature.com (Full Text)
Provides access to the prestigious Nature online weekly journal and other journals from Nature Publishing Group.
- Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes recordings of classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music and biographical information on composers and artists.
- Naxos Music Library - Jazz
Aimed at jazz music enthusiasts, NML Jazz provides an expanding, mixed selection of streamed recordings by over 32,000 artists from jazz legends to contemporary jazz on over 200 labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner, EMI, and Fantasy.
- Naxos Video Library
A streaming video library of opera, ballet, classical music concerts and documentaries.
- New York Times Historical Newspaper, 1851-2009 (Full Text)
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis/Nexis Academic databases.
- New York Times, 1851-2009 (ProQuest - Full Text)
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis/Nexis Academic databases.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides indexing and full text coverage of major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post and staff articles from many other newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Minneapolis Star Tribune, the Wisconsin State Journal and other Wisconsin regional newspapers.
- NewspaperARCHIVE (Heritage Microfilm - Full Text)
Includes fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns, providing genealogy, history, culture and newsworthy events in a local context. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700's.
- Newswires (EBSCO - Full Text)
Near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press on a continuous basis and maintained for a rolling 30-day archive.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories (ASP - Full Text)
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950, through primary source materials.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950 (ASP - Full Text)
Provides primary documents presenting the immediate, personal experiences of North American women through their diaries and letters.
- NoveList (EBSCO)
A fiction reader's advisory database that includes information about 150,000 fiction titles, and over 4000 custom features including articles, BookTalks, Book Discussion Guides, and Author Read-alikes.
- NoveList K-8 (EBSCO)
NoveList K-8 is an electronic readers' advisory resource which assists teachers and others in finding works written for children. It includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews and links to teacher resources.
- Nursing Consult (Mosby's - Full Text)
A nursing clinical information database which includes full text medical journal articles, drug information, patient handouts, health reference books, nursing news, clinical updates and more.
- Nutrition Care Manual (Full Text)
Limited to 2 simultaneous users. The ADA Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) is a publication of the American Dietetic Association. It includes nutrition research and information on the nutritional needs of various medical disorders and diseases.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Includes the complete contents of the Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, additional volumes published from 1993-97 and quarterly releases. Each entry contains the word's etymology, definition, part of speech, date of origination, pronunciation, cross-references, and quotations.
- Oxford Music Online (Full Text)
Includes Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music, reference sources that coverage a wide range of information on music.
- Oxford Quick Reference Online (Full Text)
Provides an online collection where you can quickly check a fact, or find out key information about a concept, person, or term, with many illustrations and cross-references.
- Oxford University Press Journals
Academic research journals covering a wide range of disciplines.
- PaperChem (Engineering Village)
Covers the international patent and journal literature related to pulp and paper technology, including the chemistry of cellulose, hemicellulose, engineering and process control; corrugated and particle board; forestry; graphic arts; corrosion; packaging; and pollution.
- Philosopher's Index (Proquest)
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
- Physical Education Index (CSA/Proquest)
An index that features a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance, health education and physical therapy. society.
- Pointer Index
Keyword index to the UWSP Pointer, the student newspaper of the UWSP with articles from 1895 to date that covers campus life, opinion, and local events. Feature stories, Letters to the Editor, and the Pointer Poll are fully indexed. Only division level or championship sporting events are indexed.
- Pollution Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Provides access to the environmental information from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues.
- Primary Search (EBSCO - Full Text)
An index designed for elementary school libraries. In addition to articles from children's magazines, it also includes reference tools for children.
- Professional Development Collection (EBSCO - Full Text)
A highly specialized collection of information especially for professional educators with information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
- Project Muse (Full Text)
Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
- PsycArticles (EBSCO - Full Text)
Full text coverage of general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage spans from 1988 to the present.
- PsycINFO (EBSCO)
A comprehensive index to psychology journal articles and book chapters with some coverage of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, and many more. Coverage spans from 1887 to present and includes international materials.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)
An index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America. A source for locating television, theater, film, and book reviews for older works.
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Reaxys incorporates Beilstein and Gmelin data plus organic and organometallic patents from 1976 to the present. (Updates vary)
- Reference Universe (Paratext)
Reference Universe is designed to help you search within reference works that are included in the reference collection of the UWSP library.
- Regional Business News (EBSCO - Full Text)
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.
- Resources for College Libraries (RCL)
RCL provides a list of over core reference book titles that are essential for undergraduate study.
- Risk Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
This database provides a comprehensive source for interdisciplinary perspectives and encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.
- SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
Search within journals published by Sage covering a wide range of topics, with an emphasis on the social sciences.
- Salem History E-books (Full Text)
Milestone Documents in American History pairs primary source documents with an essay of in-depth analysis and commentary, providing students of history a full understanding of each document’s importance and historical context. Includes access to The Fifties, Sixties, Seventies and Eighties in America (80s) from Salem Press' critically acclaimed The Decades Series.
- Salem Literature E-books (Full Text)
Salem literature available e-book titles: Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes and Superheroes
- Salem Science E-books (Full Text)
Salem Science is a reference e-book platform which includes the Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues.
- Science Citation Index Expanded
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, including coverage in Astronomy, Physics, Optometry, Animal Behavior, Mathematics, Environmental Science, Kinesiology, Nursing, Speech and Hearing, Biochemistry, Chemistry, Medicine, Biology, Health, and the Philosophy of Science
- Science Magazine (Full Text)
Full text index and articles from the journal Science with coverage from 1996 to the present.
- Science Reference Center (EBSCO - Full Text)
Provides easy access to full text science-oriented content in biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
SciFinder provides indexing for research in chemistry and related scientific disciplines including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and dissertations. Individual registration is required. Access is restricted to UWSP faculty, staff and students.
- Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (ASP - Full Text)
Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.
A one-stop search for books in the UWSP collection, full text articles from scholarly journals and magazines, online videos, as well as digital images and maps. With one click you can expand your search to books across the entire UW System (UB) and to articles beyond our subscriptions.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 (ASP)
Brings the 1960s alive through full text, searchable access to diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
An index to articles in the social sciences that covers anthropology, business, communication, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, ethnic studies, family studies, geography, health policy, international relations, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, rehabilitation, social work, sociology, urban studies and women's studies.
A music library that offers a wide variety of music, audio themes and sound effects for education, perfect for podcasts, videos, news shows, video yearbooks, digital storytelling, presentations, TV broadcasts, web design and more. Available via Badgerlink.
- SPORTDiscus (EBSCO - Full Text)
Includes coverage journals in all areas related to sports, including wellness, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, physical therapy, nutrition, sport psychology, recreation, and leisure studies.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work and is an open access publishing project of the Metaphysics Research Lab at the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSLI) at Stanford University. The encyclopedia comprises scholarly entries by leading scholars in the field and is growing continually.
- Stevens Point Journal Index (pre 2003)
For more recent articles use the SPJ online index
Access to articles is by keyword(s). Coverage is 1992-2005. Articles indexed include state and local news. The newspaper is available on microfilm in the UWSP archives.
- Stevens Point Journal Index 2003-present (Newsbank)
Index to the Stevens Point Journal from 2-3-2003 to present. To search for articles before 2003 use the UWSP SPJ index. All articles are available in microfilm in the UWSP Archives.For earlier articles use local SPJ index
- Sustainability Science Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Explores the management of human use and conservation of the natural resource base including Sustainable Development, Environmental Law, Atmosphere; Land; Water and Biodiversity, Energy, and Sustainable Transportation/Mobility.
- Teaching Books.net
Include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
- Toxicology Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
An index that covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.
- TOXLINE (CSA/Proquest)
TOXLINE offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens.
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature (ASP - Full Text)
Provides a highly visual and fully searchable archive of handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books describing American attitudes towards family dynamics, gender roles, sexual relationships, and race relations.
- U.S. Government Online
A federated search engine that simultaneously searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases across a wide range of subjects. More than 50 government databases are included.
- Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
Provides basic information about active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publications, and monographic series published throughout the world, plus thousands of newpapers.
- Water Resources Abstracts (CSA/Proquest)
Summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
- Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
Includes a search of three multidisciplinary citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides detailed times cited information.
- Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide is the largest index to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians including studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more.
- Wiley Online Library (Full Text)
Search for articles in journals in the sciences, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane 0Library for evidence-based medicine. Includes access to over 14,000 e-books.
- Wisconsin Historical Images
Historical images collected by the Wisconsin Historical Society from the 19th and 20th centuries. Images are primarily photographs but also include paintings, posters, advertising material, ephemera, and political cartoons. There are several thousand images currently available on the site, and new images are added daily. Reproductions may be purchased from the Society.
- Wisconsin Newspapers Digital Research Site (Full Text)
The Wisconsin Newspaper Association’s database provides access to its 235 daily and weekly member-newspapers. Newspaper content is available from April 2005 with a two month embargo period.
- Wisconsin State Legislature (Full Text)
Information on Wisconsin law including: Recent and upcoming activities of the Legislature, Legislation, Statutes & Constitution, Administrative Code, support agency publications like Legislative Briefs, Research Bulletins, Informational Memos and Bulletins, etc. All online information is from 1995 - current.
- Women and Social Movements US 1600-2000 (ASP - Full Text)
Primary documents and author information related to suffrage, feminist movements that includes book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
- Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
An index that includes information from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
- World Development Indicators Online (Full Text)
Contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted.
- WorldCat (Firstsearch interface)
WorldCat is a cooperative library catalog that includes holdings from libraries throughout the world. This link is a research oriented search interface that provides more advanced search choices, including specialized searches by format.
WorldCat is a cooperative library catalog that includes holdings from libraries throughout the world. This is the free, public search interface.