LibGuides: Historical Newspapers: Home

Wisconsin, Stevens Point, and UWSP

Newspaper Archive (Wisconsin Collection) This link opens in a new window
Provides searching and full text of historical Wisconsin newspapers from 1813-2017.
Wisconsin Newspapers Archive (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
The Wisconsin Newspaper Association’s database provides access to its 235 daily and weekly member-newspapers. Newspaper content is available from April 2005 with a 90 day embargo period. Provided by Badgerlink

Stevens Point Journal Index (SPJ Index) 1992-Nov. 2005
An index produced by the UWSP Library. Articles can be found in the University Archives (5th floor of the library).

Stevens Point Journal Index via Newspapers.com (1895-present) This link opens in a new window
Index to the Stevens Point Journal via Newspapers.com. Free search of the SPJ archives. A subscription is needed to access the articles online, but the newspaper is available on microfilm in the UWSP archives.

Index to The Pointer, the UWSP student newspaper (1895 to date)
This index attempts to provide comprehensive coverage of campus life, opinion, and local events. Feature stories, letters to the editor, and the Pointer poll are fully indexed. Only division level or championship sporting events are indexed.
Current issues (current school year only) of the Pointer are shelved in the Current Periodicals area on the 2nd floor of the University Library. Issues from 1895 on are in University Archives on the 5th floor.

Search and Access PDF Full-text Articles from Major Newspapers:

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest - Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus.
Accessible Archives (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from 18th and 19th Century Publications. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical information.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Historically significant 18th, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including big-city dailies, regional publications. Includes William Lloyd Garrison's The Liberator, and the North Star founded by Frederick Douglass; aka Early American Newspapers.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
An index to the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States, reflecting the history of 20th century America. A source for locating television, theater, film, and book reviews for older works.

Newseum
Displays the image of the frontpage of daily newspapers from all over the world.
Google News Archive
California Digital Newspaper Collection
Free repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the Present
Newspaper Archives on the Web
Provides links to the Web versions of 65 US newspapers from 29 states and their full text, online back files. Some of the archives go back to the '80s, but most are from the '90s. Searching is free, but articles are $1.00 per item (some are free). Providing links to archives makes this news service unique.
The European Library's Historical Newspapers
College Newspapers
Over 100 college newspapers, including archives.
ABYZ Newslinks
Links to more than 16,400 newspapers and other news sources from around the world.
Newslink
Links to online newspapers of U.S. and foreign countries, for examples, Times (UK), Le Monde (France), and De Welt (Germany).