This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 202: "I-Search: Careers"" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ENGL 202: "I-Search: Careers"   Tags: careers, course guides, english  

Use these sources to find information about careers: education needed, career prospects, working conditions, and pay.
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2013 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/i-search Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article Databases

Search in these article databases for information on careers.  If there is no full text available in the database, click on "Find it" and see if there is full text in another database.  If not, follow the options to search the catalog or request the article from Interlibrary Loan.

 

  Search Credo Reference

Search the full text of hundreds of reference books.

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand logoFilms on Demand

A new product to the library, Films on Demand provides films that are time-indexed for showing in the classroom or posting online for your students.  You can choose an entire film, or a section or chapter of a film to view. 

 

  Search the UWSP Library Catalog



Many books on careers in the Reference Room have a call number that begins HF5382.5.  Other books about careers are located in other parts of the Reference Room, as well as in "the stacks," which is the term used for the 3rd, 4th, and 5th floors of the library, and in Government Publications on the 6th floor.

Search for these materials in the library catalog using a search term like Sports "Vocational Guidance" or Sports Careers.

 

Reference Books

The Reference Room collection contains many books about careers.  Most of these are close together because they have a similar call number, HF5382.5.  Some are located elsewhere in the Reference Room.  Use the library catalog (below) to find their locations.

Below is a short list of good books in the Reference Room about careers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Call Number: REF HF5382.5 .U5 O25 2010-2011
This wonderful source is put out by the federal government.

Career Information Center
Call Number: REF HF5382.5 .U5 C32 2007

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number: REF HF5381 .E52 2010

Universal Borrowing

If the UWSP library does not have the book, dvd, cd, etc. that you seek, or if we own it but it is checked out to someone else, then click here to search for the item in another UW System library.  If you find the item elsewhere, Make a Request to have it delivered to the UWSP library for your use.

Library Website

Go to the Library's website for more searching options, including specialized subject databases (see under Article Databases by Subject).

 

Search@UW

Search@UW 

Try our new discovery tool where you can find books in the UWSP collection, full text articles from scholarly journals and magazines, online videos, as well as photographs, documents and maps from the UW digitial collections. 

Then, with one click, go beyond our holdings at UWSP and order books from other UW libraries and search for articles beyond our subscriptions. Search@UW is multidisciplinary, so it's a great starting point for research across all majors.  It can be a real time saver, since it combines what have historically been separate search venues in a single site, making your search experience faster and easier.

Librarian

Profile Image
Patti Becker
Contact Info
LRC Library 104C (in the Reference Room)
715-346-4443
Send Email

Library Hours

 

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian!

By Phone: 715-346-2836
By Email:
librefd@uwsp.edu
In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip