This is the "Home" page of the "NRES 151: Ecological Basis for Natural Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NRES 151: Ecological Basis for Natural Resources   Tags: course guides, natural resources  

Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/nr151 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The videos on this page are designed to help you complete the NR151 library assignment.  If you need more help feel free to contact Mark, or Jennifer, or stop at the Reference Desk. Our contact info is on the right side of this page.

 

Searching the Library Catalog for Books (Question 1)

Question 1 uses Search@UW to search for a book.  Watch this video to learn how to do this in the UWSP Library.

HINT: To find a book, enter your keyword search terms in the Search@UW box on the Library homepage.

HINT: Generally speaking, when searching only enter an author's last name.

HINT: When citing a book in Ecology format, remember to include the publication city, state, and country.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
 

Searching Libraries Worldwide using Worldcat (Question 2)

Question 2 asks you to use Worldcat to search for a Master's thesis that is not available at UWSP.  Watch this video to learn how to find and use Worldcat.

HINT: From the Library's homepage, click the WorldCat hyperlink to search library holdings worldwide.

HINT: When you cite a thesis remember to include what type of thesis it is (e.g., Master of Science Thesis).

HINT: To cite the thesis completely you may need to search the internet to find the city, state, and country for the university that published the thesis.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
 

Journal Title A-Z List (Question 4)

Question 4 requires you to find out if the library has online access to a journal without knowing in which database it may be located.  Watch this video to learn how to locate the journal you need.

HINT: We aren't given a specific database to use, only the name of the journal.  To find the journal, on the Library homepage under the Search@UW search box, click on the Journal Titles A-Z link, enter the name of the journal in the search box, and click on the Search button.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
 

Searching an Index or Database (Questions 6, 7, 8 and 9)

Questions #6, #7, #8 and #9 are very basic article search questions. This video will show you how to locate the articles you need and how to answer the questions on the lab.

HINT:  For question 6, you are using the Search@UW index on the library homepage.

HINT:  For questions 7 & 8 you will use specific databases.  Click on the Articles tab on the library homepage, then the Databases by Subject, and look for the link to the Natural Resources databases. 

HINT: For question #9,  you will the Search@UW index. Click on the Search@UW tab on the library homepageand enter your search terms in the search box.

HINT: When you enter an author's name into a database, only use the last name.  Don't include initials or first names!

HINT: If you get no results, check that you spelled everything correctly!

Question #6 asks you to search for an article using the Search@UW index and this video shows you how to use this search index.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.


Question #7 asks you to use a specific database called Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide and this video shows you how to use this database.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.


Question #8 asks you to use a specific database called Science Citation Index. This video shows you how to use this database, and how to find the number of times an article was cited.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.


Question #9 asks you to search for an article using the Search@UW index. Start your search using the Search@UW tab on the library home page.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Library Liaison

Library Liaison

 

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian!

By Phone: 715-346-2836
By Email:
librefd@uwsp.edu
In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip