This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology & Social Work Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology & Social Work Databases  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/sociology-social-work-databases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sociology & Social Work Databases A-Z

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with full-text for more than 9,000 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing for more than 13,000 journals. The database is updated daily and features PDF content going back as far as 1887. This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study, including archaeology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and other fields.
  • Black Studies in Video (ASP)
    An Alexander Street Press video collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States, including films about African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO - Full Text)
    Provides cover-to-cover indexing, abstracts and full text for core journals in communications, including mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory and advertising.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
    Indexing and abstracts of journals from around the world on criminal justice and criminology.
  • Ethnographic Video Online (ASP)
    A film resource for the study of human culture and behavior, covering every region of the world, and featuring the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, food, economic systems, social stratification, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, families, politics, conflict, religion, music and the arts.
  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
    Publications indexed in the database are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Coverage is from 1970 to date.
  • GenderWatch (ProQuest - Full Text)
    A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, culture, health, history, political science, and gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other reports and proceedings.
  • JSTOR (Full Text)
    An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
  • Project Muse (Full Text)
    Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
  • Project Muse (Full Text)
    Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index
    An index to articles in the social sciences that covers anthropology, business, communication, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, ethnic studies, family studies, geography, health policy, international relations, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychology, public administration, rehabilitation, social work, sociology, urban studies and women's studies.
  • Web of Knowledge (Web of Science)
    Includes a search of three multidisciplinary citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides detailed times cited information.
  • Women's Studies International (EBSCO)
    An index that includes information from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
  • World Development Indicators Online (Full Text)
    Contains statistical data for more than 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for more than 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed against a particular year, viewed by percentage change, and charted.
 

Search@UW (articles, books, and more)

 

Family & Society Studies Worldwide

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Family & Society Studies Worldwide is a core resource in family and gender-related topics. Publications indexed in the database are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work.

 

Need Research Help?

Ask a Librarian!

By Phone: 715-346-2836
By Email:
librefd@uwsp.edu
In Person: University Library, Reference Desk on Main Floor
By Chat: JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip