Skip to main content
UWSP Libraries
Ask A Librarian:
Chat:
Email:
Text:

ENGL 201: Bibliography Project (M. Williams): Book Reviews

Book Reviews

Book Reviews in Print Indexes

Find these print indexes in the Reference Room on the library’s first floor. Use the volume for the year in which the book was first published or the years immediately after the initial publication date.

Book Review Digest Reference Room Z1035.A1 B6

1905-present. Lists and provides excerpts of book reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and general periodicals from the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain. Entries are under author's last name. A short description of the book, a full citation to locate the full text, and excerpts from 3-4 book reviews appear under each entry.

Book Review Index Reference Room Z1035.A1 B5

1965-present. Provides citations to reviews of books, periodicals, and books-on-tape from over 600 general interest and scholarly publications. Arranged alphabetically by author’s last name; there is no subject approach. No summaries or excerpts of the reviews are included.

The New York Times Index Reference Room AI21 .N44

1851-2001. Includes citations to all reviews in The New York Times Book Review section; listed in the index alphabetically by title under the Book Reviews subject heading.

Finding Literary and other Scholarly Book Reviews

Since most book reviews are published when a book is initially published, it is important to know the original date of publication. Reviews of books published before about 1990 are often not included in online indexes.  For reviews of older titles, visit the Reference Area of the library and search in Book Review Index (1965-) and Book Review Digest (1905-).  If you are looking for a review of a scholarly work of nonfiction in a specific subject area, such as science or art, try searching in a subject specific database.  Many scholarly journals also include book reviews.