Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Oxford Handbook of Music Education
Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from the earliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In this first of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the means through which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life. Whether they are used individually or in tandem, the two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Music Education update and redefine the discipline, and show how individuals across the world learn, enjoy and share the power and uniqueness of music.
Developing the Musician by
To what extent does research on musical development impact on educational practices in school and the community? Do musicians from classical and popular traditions develop their identities in different ways? What do teachers and learners take into consideration when assessing progress? This book takes a fresh look at 'the musician' and what constitutes 'development' within the fields of music psychology and music education. In doing so, it explores the relationship between formative experiences and the development of the musician in a range of music education settings. It includes the perspectives of classroom teachers, popular musicians, classical musicians and music educators in higher education. Drawn from an international community of experienced educators and researchers, the contributors offer a range of approaches to research. From life history through classroom observation to content analysis, each section offers competing and complementary perspectives on contemporary practice. The book is an essential resource for musicians, educators, researchers and policy makers, offering insight into the reality of practice from those working within established traditions - such as the conservatoire and school settings - and from those who are currently emerging as significant forces in the fields of popular music education and community music.
Instrumental Music Education
Instrumental Music Education: Teaching with the Musical and Practical in Harmonyis intended for college instrumental music education majors studying to be band and orchestra directors at the elementary, middle school, or high school level. This textbook presents an extensive look at the topics most vital to running a successful instrumental music program, balancing musical, theoretical, and practical approaches. A central theme is the compelling parallel between language and music, including "sound-to-symbol" pedagogies. Understanding this connection improves the teaching of melody, rhythm, composition, and improvisation. An enclosed CD contains over 50 tracks of acoustically pure drones and demonstration exercises for use in rehearsals, sectionals and lessons. The companion website, available January 2011, includes over 120 pedagogy videos for wind, string, and percussion instruments, performed by professional players and teachers, over 50 rehearsal videos, rhythm flashcards, intonation software, and two additional chapters, "The Rehearsal Tookit," and "The Job Search."
Elementary Music Education, Informal Learning, and the New Sociology of Childhood by
This book investigates informal learning practices in music education as a pedagogical approach within the primary classroom setting aiming to explore and expand knowledge in the new field of informal music pedagogy through an investigation of its application with Grade One students.
Introduction to Effective Music Teaching by
An Introduction to Effective Music Teaching provides the prospective teacher with front-line tested strategies and approaches that are based on current research and the author's more than three decades as a public school music educator. With an open and accessible writing style, Dr. Townsend reviews the components of effective teaching, and guides the reader in constructing a personal, practical philosophy of music teaching and learning that will form the basis for his or her instruction. Case Studies allow readers to experience artistry and attitude in action.
Alternative Approaches in Music Education by
This book provides personalized case studies of music programs that are engaging in alternative approaches. The diversity of these real-world case studies will inspire questioning and curiosity, stimulate lively discussion and innovation, and provide much food for thought.
Music, Informal Learning and the School by
This pioneering book reveals how the music classroom can draw upon the world of popular musicians' informal learning practices, so as to recognize and foster a range of musical skills and knowledge that have long been overlooked within music education. It investigates how far informal learning practices are possible and desirable in a classroom context; how they can affect young teenagers' musical skill and knowledge acquisition; and how they can change the ways students listen to, understand and appreciate music as critical listeners, not only in relation to what they already know, but beyond. It examines students' motivations towards music education, their autonomy as learners, and their capacity to work co-operatively in groups without instructional guidance from teachers. It suggests how we can awaken students' awareness of their own musicality, particularly those who might not otherwise be reached by music education, putting the potential for musical development and participation into their own hands. Bringing informal learning practices into a school environment is challenging for teachers. It can appear to conflict with their views of professionalism, and may at times seem to run against official educational discourses, pedagogic methods and curricular requirements. But any conflict is more apparent than real, for this book shows how informal learning practices can introduce fresh, constructive ways for music teachers to understand and approach their work. It offers a critical pedagogy for music, not as mere theory, but as an analytical account of practices which have fundamentally influenced the perspectives of the teachers involved. Through its grounded examples and discussions of alternative approaches to classroom work and classroom relations, the book reaches out beyond music to other curriculum subjects, and wider debates about pedagogy and curriculum.
How Popular Musicians Learn by
Popular musicians acquire some or all of their skills and knowledge informally, outside school or university, and with little help from trained instrumental teachers. How do they go about this process? Despite the fact that popular music has recently entered formal music education, we have as yet a limited understanding of the learning practices adopted by its musicians. Nor do we know why so many popular musicians in the past turned away from music education, or how young popular musicians today are responding to it. Drawing on a series of interviews with musicians aged between fifteen and fifty, Lucy Green explores the nature of pop musicians' informal learning practices, attitudes and values, the extent to which these altered over the last forty years, and the experiences of the musicians in formal music education. Through a comparison of the characteristics of informal pop music learning with those of more formal music education, the book offers insights into how we might re-invigorate the musical involvement of the population. Could the creation of a teaching culture that recognizes and rewards aural imitation, improvisation and experimentation, as well as commitment and passion, encourage more people to make music? Since the hardback publication of this book in 2001, the author has explored many of its themes through practical work in school classrooms. Her follow-up book, Music, Informal Learning and the School: A New Classroom Pedagogy (2008) appears in the same Ashgate series.
Research Methodologies in Music Education by
This volume provides an understanding of various research methodologies that have been used in music education projects. These methodologies include: historical research; quantitative research; narrative inquiry; action research; ethnography; case study; interpretative phenomenological analysis; arts-based methods; and mixed methods. Each of these research methodologies is detailed, before examples of music education projects that have used these methodologies are described. A separate chapter is devoted to each methodology, and each chapter has been written by a researcher with extensive experience and knowledge of the methodology in question. The book project is an initiative of the Australian and New Zealand Association for Research in Music Education (ANZARME). This association is the peak body for music research across the two countries. ANZARME promotes and supports all styles of research in all avenues of music education.The book will assist all those who are undertaking research in music education, particularly future researchers in music education, such as postgraduate research students. The text will assist researchers in understanding the many available research methods, and will provide clarity in choosing the most appropriate method for their particular research.
Collabortive Learning in Higher Music Education
In higher music education, learning in social settings (orchestras, choirs, bands, chamber music and so on) is prevalent, yet understanding of such learning rests heavily on the transmission of knowledge and skill from master to apprentice. This narrow view of learning trajectories pervades in both one-to-one and one-to-many contexts. This is surprising given the growing body of knowledge about the power of collaborative learning in general, underpinned by theoretical developments in educational psychology: the social dimensions of learning, situational learning and concepts of communities of learners. Collaborative Learning in Higher Music Education seeks to respond to the challenge of becoming more conscious of the creative and multiple dimensions of social interaction in learning music, in contexts ranging from interdisciplinary projects to one-to-one tuition, and not least in the contemporary context of rapid change in the cultural industries and higher education as a whole. It brings together theoretical papers and case studies of practice. Themes covered include collaborative creativity, communities of practice, peer-learning, co-teaching as co-learning, assessment and curriculum structures. Chapters illuminate reasons for enabling collaborative learning, and provide exemplars of innovative practice and designs for collaborative learning environments in higher music education. A central purpose of the book is to scaffold change, to help in meeting the rapid changes in society and to find constructive stepping stones or signposts for teachers and students.
Musical Creativity
How do we develop musical creativity? How is musical creativity nurtured in collaborative improvisation? How is it used as a communicative tool in music therapy? This comprehensive volume offers new research on these questions by an international team of experts from the fields of music education, music psychology and music therapy. The book celebrates the rich diversity of ways in which learners of all ages develop and use musical creativity. Contributions focus broadly on the composition/improvisation process, considering its conceptualization and practices in a number of contexts. The authors examine how musical creativity can be fostered in formal settings, drawing examples from primary and secondary schools, studio, conservatoire and university settings, as well as specialist music schools and music therapy sessions. These essays will inspire readers to think deeply about musical creativity and its development. The book will be of crucial interest to music educators, policy makers, researchers and students, as it draws on applied research from across the globe, promoting coherent and symbiotic links between education, music and psychology research.
Just Good Teaching: Comprehensive Musicianship through Performance (CMP) in Theory and Practice by
Student learning in school music ensembles is often focused on technical skill development. Give your students broader experience involving multiple music learnings, technical proficiency, cognition, and personal meaning. The Comprehensive Musicianship through Performance (CMP) model will help you plan instruction for school ensembles that promotes a holistic form of music learning and will allow you to use your creativity, passion, and vision. With model teaching plans and questions for discussion, this book can give you richer, more meaningful challenges and help you provide your students with deeper musical experiences. Sindberg combines the theoretical foundations of CMP with practical applications in a book that's useful for practicing teacher-conductors, scholars, and teacher educators alike.
Learning from Young Children: Research in Early Childhood Music
In early childhood, the most important period of learning and human development, young children often achieve developmental milestones in a short time. Learning from Young Children: Research in Early Childhood Music presents research on the importance of fostering musical growth during this period. These studies discuss: -applying brain research to young children's musical growth - music in the home and child-care contexts - musical characteristics of the young child - language acquisition as a lens on music learning - music as a foundation for communication - parental conceptions of the role of music in early childhood - music as a pathway for building community - using music to elicit vocalizations in children with special needs With research designs ranging from statistical, mixed methods, survey, content analysis, and case study, to philosophical inquiry, this book will help practitioners base their practice in research and offers a wide range of information for scholars and researchers studying early childhood music learning and development.