LibGuides: Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources of Information in the Sciences: Science Databases and Popular Science Sources

Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources

Academic Search Ultimate (full text) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary article database providing information across all areas of academic study.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles published in American Chemical Society journals spanning all subjects of chemical sciences.
BioOne Complete (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A full text database with articles from bioscience research journals including the topics of ecology, economic botany, entomology, environmental science, evolutionary biology, fish, genetics, mammals, microbiology, natural history, ornithology, paleontology, and parasitology.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health) Complete (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text articles from nursing & allied health journals and a current awareness service for recently published articles.
Credo Reference (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles across a wide range of disciplines.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps – Wisconsin provides digital access to 1348 large-scale maps of 273 Wisconsin towns and cities, including Amherst, Stevens Point, Wausau, Waupaca, Marshfield, Madison, Milwaukee, Green Bay, and many others.
GreenFILE (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index which covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Provided by Badgerlink

Google Scholar
Broadly search for scholarly literature by searching across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

JSTOR (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest - Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus.

PLOS One
PLOS One is the multidisciplinary journal found in the Public Library of Science suite of open access scientific journals.

Pubmed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the free online equivalent to Medline, a comprehensive index to journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the preclinical sciences.
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three multidisciplinary citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides detailed times cited information.