Fisheries and Water Resources

The mission of the American Fisheries Society is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems by advancing fisheries and aquatic science and promoting the development of fisheries professionals.

The purpose of AIH is to enhance and strengthen the standing of hydrology as a science and a profession by: establishing standards and procedures to certify individuals qualified in surface-water, groundwater and water-quality hydrology; establishing and maintaining ethical standards to protect the public from irresponsible work; providing education and training in hydrology; and providing the public and government advice and guidance concerning activities related to the hydrologic profession.

ASLO has been a leading professional organization for researchers and educators in the field of aquatic science, working to provide for their needs at all phases of professional development.

Founded in 1964, the American Water Resources Association is a non-profit professional association dedicated to the advancement of men and women in water resources management, research, and education. It is the professional home of a wide variety of water resources experts including engineers, educators, foresters, biologists, ecologists, geographers, managers, regulators, hydrologists and attorneys.

The American Water Works Association is an international nonprofit educational association dedicated to safe water. Founded in 1881 as a forum for water professionals to share information and learn from each other for the common good, AWWA is the authoritative resource for knowledge, information, and advocacy for improving the quality and supply of water in North America.

A local center that strives to help the government and the public manage groundwater wisely by through education and research. Supports watershed stewardship, assist citizens with lake, river and drinking water quality problems, promote management strategies for water resource protection, provide water quality assessment and support, prepare students for careers as water resource professionals.

Their mission is to strengthen global governance and the managerial and technical capacities of members and to lead consensus-building towards improved conservation and utilization of aquatic resources.

An encyclopedia that includes information on market, common, regional and scientific names of fish as well as images of many species designed to protect the consumer.

This site features more than 4,000 photos covering all 162 native Wisconsin species and 12 invasive species that have taken up residence in the state's waters. It also includes a taxonomic key, an illustrated guide to fish anatomy, and an illustrated glossary. Source: Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, the UW Center for Limnology, and UW Sea Grant.

The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. It encompasses 29,000 species, over 40,000 pictures and 37,000 references. The database was developed at the WorldFish Center. It is searchable by common or scientific name, family, country/island, ecosystem, topic and references. It is available in multiple languages, offers a glossary and discussion forum. Source: Choice Reviews, Association of College and Research Libraries.

The Ground Water Protection Council is an organization whose members consist of state ground water regulatory agencies which come together within the GWPC organization to mutually work toward the protection of the nation’s ground water supplies. The purpose of the GWPC is to promote and ensure the use of best management practices and fair but effective laws regarding comprehensive ground water protection.

The International Association for Great Lakes Research (IAGLR) is a scientific organization made up of researchers studying the Laurentian Great Lakes, other large lakes of the world, and their watersheds, as well as those with an interest in such research. IAGLR members encompass all scientific disciplines with a common interest in the management of large lake ecosystems on many levels.

The National Ground Water Association is a nonprofit organization composed of U.S. and international groundwater professionals — contractors, scientists and engineers, equipment manufacturers, and suppliers. Our purpose is to provide guidance to members, government representatives, and the public for sound scientific, economic, and beneficial development, protection, and management of the world's groundwater resources.

The NODC archives and provides data to scientists on the world's oceans. Among the many areas covered are extreme weather, coastal water temperatures, algal blooms, coral reefs, and more. This website features the Ocean Archive System, a searchable database of original data sets submitted to NODC.

The federal agency, a division of the Department of Commerce, responsible for the stewardship of the nation's living marine resources and their habitat. NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service is responsible for the management, conservation and protection of living marine resources.

The purpose of the Society is to forge partnerships among citizens, scientists, and professionals to foster the management and protection of lakes and reservoirs for today and tomorrow.

An international organization of about 3,500 members dedicated to fostering sound wetland science, education, and management. SWS is the society for wetland professionals.

A database that provides real-time data about the occurrence and distribution of introduced aquatic organisms in the United States. Focuses on freshwater organisms and fishes. Does not support plants or marine invertebrates.

Links compiled by a librarian working for the California water agency. Source: Richard Teeter, State of California.

Water Quality Information Center (WQIC) provides electronic access to information on water quality and agriculture. The center collects, organizes, and communicates the scientific findings, educational methodologies, and public policy issues related to water quality and agriculture.

Established in 1964 by the UW Water Resources Institute, Wisconsin's Water Library is unique among UW-Madison's many libraries for its collection of almost 30,000 volumes of water-related information about the Great Lakes and the waters of Wisconsin. The library includes a curriculum collection, dozens of educational videos, a children's collection, and more than 20 journals and 100 newsletters.