LibGuides: COMM 221: Introduction to News Writing and Reporting (Fakazis): Home

Local Newspapers

The Pointer
Recent issues of the UWSP student newspaper.
The Pointer archives
Previous issues of the UWSP student newspaper dating back to 1895.
Stevens Point Journal
Recent issues of the city's daily newspaper.
The Portage County Gazette
Recent issues of the locally owned weekly newspaper.
Stevens Point City Times
Recent issues of the city's independent weekly newspaper.
City Pages
A weekly news and entertainment newspaper based in Wausau.

Google News
Google's news site with up-to-the-minute headlines from a wide range of media.

Flipster E-magazines This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines in an easy to browse, online format.

Newspaper Source Plus (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage of major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post and staff articles from many other newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Minneapolis Star Tribune, the Wisconsin State Journal and other Wisconsin regional newspapers. Provided by Badgerlink
MasterFILE Complete (Full text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text articles on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health, education and current events. Provided by Badgerlink
Chronicle of Higher Education (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A primary source of information on higher education including news, feature articles, opinion pieces, job listings, daily news and advice columns.

The CRAAP Test includes a list of questions to help determine if the information you find is reliable.

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

Authority: The source of the information.

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the information.

Purpose: The reason the information exists

Wisconsin Newspapers Archive (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
The Wisconsin Newspaper Association’s database provides access to its 235 daily and weekly member-newspapers. Newspaper content is available from April 2005 with a 90 day embargo period. Provided by Badgerlink

AP Stylebook This link opens in a new window
A writing style guide for journalists, from the Associated Press.