Biology

Provides access to publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, and soil and water resources. (Source: National Agricultural Library)

Provides information on 5,000 species of frogs, toads, and salamanders. Conservation status, description, distribution and habitat information are given for each species. (Source: U.C. Berkeley, Digital Library Project)

An online repository of digital images, video and sound clips of animal and plant species from around the globe. Users may browse or search for species by common or scientific names. Created and maintained by Wildscreen, a British nonprofit group, this site aims to provide a "comprehensive and enduring audio-visual record" of the more than 12,000 species threatened with extinction. (Source: Choice - Association of Research & College Libraries)

This site features the complete double elephant folio set of John James Audubon's "Birds of America", accompanied by his "Ornithological Biography. (Source: University of Pittsburgh).

This replica of the complete "John James Audubon's Birds of America" (1840-1844) includes the full-text, color plates, figures and bird calls. (Source: Portions copyright Ricahrd R. Buonanno, 1995 and Creative Multimedia Corp., 1990-91, 1992)

This site includes problem sets and tutorials in Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Chemicals and Human Health, Developmental Biology, Human Biology, Immunology, Mendelian Genetics, and Molecular Biology. Some modules are available in Spanish. Some sections include activities and Web resources. (Source: University of Arizona)

This site contains over five hundred links covering such topics as biology, biotechnology, diseases, evolution, and microbiology. Links are organized into sixteen main topics and sixty-five subtopics that support health and science education. Source: Librarian's Interned Index.

This developing website is a collaborative effort by scientists and nonscientists who work in museums and research institutes to create a portal that will eventually provide basic information on all 1.8 million known species, including scientific names, facts, and images. (Source: Encyclopedia of Life)

This resource provides various types of pesticide toxicology and environmental chemistry information. The database of pesticide profiles includes trade name(s), regulatory status, chemical class, formulation, toxicological effects, ecological effects (on birds, aquatic organisms, etc.), environmental fate, physical properties, exposure guidelines, basic manufacture and references. (Source: A cooperative effort of University of California-Davis, Oregon State University, Michigan State University, Cornell University, and the University of Idaho.

This site provides excertps from "the hundreds of species biographies assembled and written by Arthur Cleveland Bent and his collaborators and published in a twenty-one volume servies [entitled 'Life Histories of North American Birds'] between 1919 and 1968 by the United States Government Printing Office." This site includes life histories "of the more than 800 species which currently breed, regularly visit, or are occasionally seen somewhere in North America." Searchable and browsable; does not include images. (Source: Familiar Birds)

The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. It encompasses 29,000 species, over 40,000 pictures and 37,000 references. The database was developed at the WorldFish Center. It is searchable by common or scientific name, family, country/island, ecosystem, topic and references. It is available in multiple languages, offers a glossary and discussion forum. (Source: Choice Reviews, Association of College and Research Libraries)

Contains 3000+ definitions. (Source: David Glick, Hebrew University of Jerusalem)

An index to botanical information available on the Internet. (Source: Botanical Museum, Finnish Museum of Natural History, Helsinki University, Finland)

This site provides IUCN-written news stories, multimedia collections, best practices, guidelines, tool kits, and 5 databases (IUCN Red List of Threatened Species; the geographical World Database on Protected Areas; the Google Maps-based Protect Planet Ocean; ECOLEX, an environmental law database; and the Ecosystem Services Experts Directory). The site also includes French and Spanish language versions.

Provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. Includes over a million type specimens, paintings, drawings, correspondence, and supporting materials. (Source: JSTOR)

Aims to map the global distribution of all species.

This site represents an ongoing effort in the western hemisphere to gather standardized data on endangered plants, animals, and ecosystems. (Source: The Nature Conservancy)

This is a growing reference that includes plant images, pictures of affected animals and presentations concerning the botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural fora (fungi, etc.). (Source: Cornell University, Animal Science Dept)

Dr. Freckmann, Professor Emeritus of Biology, taught vascular plant taxonomy and agrostology at UW-Stevens Point for 32 years. Starting with one cabinet of about 1,000 plant specimens in 1969, he (and Dr. Frank W. Bowers) built this herbarium into the 3rd largest in Wisconsin, with over 200,000 specimens. (Source: UWSP)

Online resource for exploring the world of vascular plants in Wisconsin. (Source: Wisconsin State Herbarium)