LibGuides: Computing & New Media Technologies: Finding Resources

CNMT Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of computer science and technology
Call Number: QA76.15 .H43 2009
ISBN: 9780816063826
Publication Date: 2009
This encyclopedia includes business and e-commerce applications, computer industry, databases, future computing, Internet and World Wide Web, programming languages, and software development and engineering.
Milestones in computer science and information technology
Call Number: QA76 .R434 2003
ISBN: 9781573565219
Publication Date: 2003
This book features more than 600 concise entries describing the most significant advances in the field of computer science and information technology, including hardware, software, theory, mathematics, programming, languages, memory, architecture, applications, and graphics.

The Library's Reference Collection is on the first floor, and provides books for use in the library to help you with definitions, facts, background research, history and more.

Top 100 computer and technical careers : your complete guidebook to major jobs in many fields at all training levels
Call Number: HF5382.5.U5 F376 2009
ISBN: 9781593576028
Explore 100 careers focused on computers and other technologies, assess which ones match your skills, and get the job you want quickly with this authoritative resource.
Encyclopedia of new media : an essential reference to communication and technology
Call Number: QA76.575 .E5368 2003
ISBN: 9780761923824
Publication Date: 2003
Covers such topics as broadband, content filtering, cyberculture, cyberethics, digital divide, freenet, MP3, privacy, telemedicine, viruses, and wireless networks in depth and includes a bibliography for each entry.

Books & More in the Library

One of the best ways to find books in our library is to use Browse Search → By Subject, which are like tags.

Articles

The following databases are particularly useful for finding articles about mathematics:

Academic Search Ultimate (full text) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary article database providing information across all areas of academic study.

Google Scholar
Searches a large volume of scholarly publications on all topics. Check out this video to see how to set your preferences to get full text access to articles off campus.

Info about the Internet

Hisory of the Internet
The history of the Internet by the Internet Society.
Computer History Museum
Includes A History of the Internet: 1962-1992, Microprocessor Evolution: 1971-1996 , and a Hall of Fellows with brief biographies of notable men and women associated with computers and the Internet.
The Internet Archives' Wayback Machine
The Wayback Machine makes it possible to surf pages stored in the Internet Archive's web archive, from October 1996 to date.
Vmyths: Truth about Computer Security Hysteria
Learn about computer virus myths, hoaxes, urban legends, hysteria, and the implications if you believe in them. You can also search a list of computer virus hoaxes & virus hysteria.
Glossary of Internet Terms
An excellent glossary of technical and user terms that you will encounter on the Internet.
Hobbes' Internet Timeline

Computing & New Media Technologies

Subject Guide

Library News

CNMT Reference Collection

Books & More in the Library

Articles

Info about the Internet