LibGuides: ENGL 375/575 Censorship Skit Assignment (Prof. Stephens): Censorship/Intellectual Freedom Resources

Banned vs. Challenged

Search@UW (articles, books, and more)

Use the following databases to find articles related to banned or challenged books/censorship. To access, click here and then go to the name of the database https://libraryguides.uwsp.edu/az.php

Search tips: Search on the title of the book, author’s last name, and “banned books” or “challenged books” or “censored books” or censorship.

DATABASE NAME	ARTICLE TYPE	BEST FOR…
Newspaper Source Plus (Ebsco)	Newspapers	Brief articles about specific challenges from school districts. Good for current challenges.
Access World News (Newsbank)	Newspapers (including international papers)	Good resource for current banned books issues and challenges.
Academic Search Ultimate (Ebsco)	Scholarly & Popular Articles (multidisiplinary)	In-depth and scholarly articles on censorship and challenges.
ERIC (Ebsco)	Education database that includes professional and scholarly articles	Education-related articles that include information on challenges from and for an educators perspective.
Professional Development Collection (Ebsco)	Trade-related articles on Education	Includes articles on pedagogical theory and practice.

Young Adult Literature Websites

Young Adult Services Library Association
Our mission is to support library staff in alleviating the challenges teens face, and in putting all teens ‒ especially those with the greatest needs ‒ on the path to successful and fulfilling lives.
more...less...
YALSA brings together key stakeholders from the areas of libraries, education, research, out of school time, youth development and more to develop and deliver resources to libraries that expand their capacity to support teen learning and enrichment and to foster healthy communities.
NoveList Teen
A children's readers' advisory resource which includes titles, authors, publication information, subjects, book reviews and links to teacher resources
ALAN: Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the NCTE
The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of NCTE (ALAN) promotes communication and cooperation among all individuals who have a special interest in adolescent literature, presents programs and conferences on this subject, promotes and increases the number of articles and publications devoted to it and integrates the efforts of all those with an interest in this literature.

Specialized Databases

Children's Core Collection (HW Wilson)
Information on fiction and nonfiction books, story collections and picture books for elementary students.
Middle & Junior High Core Collection (HW Wilson)
Recommended fiction and nonfiction books for children and adolescents in grades five through nine.
NoveList
A fiction reader's advisory database including articles, BookTalks, Book Discussion Guides, and Author Read-alikes. Provided by Badgerlink
Senior High Core Collection (HW Wilson)
Recommended fiction and nonfiction books for young adults in grades 9 through 12. .

Toolkits

ALA Challenge Support
The ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom provides confidential support during censorship challenges to library materials, services, and programs. Anyone can report censorship, even if they do not require assistance.
ALA Fight Censorship
ALA offers this clearinghouse of resources to assist library workers and advocates in responding to and supporting others facing those challenges. Includes a "Challenge Preparedness" section
Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
See "Library & Educator Tools" tab.
Cooperative Children's Book Center
Section on what to do when materials are challenged, including Wisconsin-specific resources.
NCTE Book Rationale Database
Book rationales are a good method to document why a book is selected for use in the classroom. NCTE recommends that teachers rely on book rationales as they create their units and lesson plans. When teacher expertise is questioned or when censorship claims are filed, having book rationales confirms the methodology and planning used in selecting books for the classroom and libraries. (access to this DB does require a NCTE membership).
NCTE Position Statements
Includes "Students' Right to Read" statement
North Hunterdon HS Library Media Center
Useful resources for handling book challenges in school settings.
Unite Against Book Bans Toolkit
Includes sections on talking points, organizing, etc.

Resource Roundup

ACLU Censorship Issues/Free Speech
ALA Court Cases
Notable First Amendment court cases
ALA Office of Intellectual Freedom
ALA timeline of banned books
Banned Books Week
Freedom to Read Foundation
Honest Education Action and Leadership
HEAL Together provides tools and resources for people to advocate for public schools.
National Coalition Against Censorship
Kids Right to Read project information
NEA - Article on Challenges
Pen America
PEN America works to ensure that people everywhere have the freedom to create literature, to convey information and ideas, to express their views, and to access the views, ideas, and literatures of others.
Safe Libraries
Site is managed by Dan Kleinman, a "library watchdog."

Articles of Interest

EBOOKS - Select Censorship Titles

Beyond Banned Books by Kristin Pekoll
ISBN: 0838918905
Publication Date: 2019
Obscene in the Extreme by Rick Wartzman
ISBN: 1586487671
Publication Date: 2009
Literature Suppressed on Social Grounds by Dawn B. Sova
ISBN: 9781438149929
Publication Date: 2018