Skip to main content
UWSP Libraries
Ask A Librarian:
Chat:
Email:
Text:

HIST 313/513 History of Islam (Francis): History of Islam Resources

Borrowing materials from other UW Libraries

What is UW Resource Sharing?

  • UW Resource Sharing enables UWSP users to borrow materials from other UW System campus libraries and receive them in 2-3 working days.
  • Pointers may use their UWSP identification cards to check out materials from other UW System libraries.

Highlighted Reference Works

Subject Specific Article & Reference Databases (UWSP licensed resources)

Web Resources

    Core Journal Titles (Access depends on licensing. For UWSP users)

    Annales islamologiques 
    Full text available via Free E- Journals
    Available from 1954 volume: 1 until 1996 volume: 30
    Arabica 
    Full text available via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
    Available from 1999
    Arts & the Islamic world 
    Full text available via EBSCOhost Art Full Text
    Available from 1997 until 2001
    British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies 
    Full text available via JSTOR Arts and Sciences II
    Available from 1991 volume: 18 issue: 1 until 2007 volume: 34 issue: 3
    Comparative Islamic studies 
    Full text available via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
    Available from 2005
    Most recent 3 month(s) not available
    Contemporary Islamic Studies 
    Full text available via Free E- Journals
    Available from 2010
    Harvard Middle Eastern and Islamic review
    Full text available via Free E- Journals
    Available from 2009 volume: 8
    International Journal of Islamic Thought
    Full text available via DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
    Available from 2012
    International journal of Middle East studies 
    Full text available via JSTOR Arts and Sciences II
    Available from 1970 volume: 1 issue: 1 until 2008 volume: 40 issue: 4
    Islamic Connections: Muslim Societies in South & Southeast Asia
    Full text available via EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete
    Available in 2009
    Journal of Arabic and Islamic studies 
    Full text available via DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
    Available from 1996
    Journal of Middle East women's studies 
    Full text available via EBSCOhost Humanities International Complete
    Available from 2005
    Middle East Studies 
    Full text available via DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
    Available from 2009



    Where to look in the Library

    Call Number Ranges (Library of Congress Subject Classification):

    • Reference Room (1st flr)
    • BP160 - (Islam, general works) 4th flr
    • BP1784 – 1785 (Religion – Islam) 4th flr
    • DS35.2 – 39.2 (History – Arab Countries) 4th flr
    • HQ1784 – 1785 (Family, Marriage, Women – people in other countries) – 4th 
    • JQ1758 – 1852 (Political Institutions – Islamic World) – 4th flr

    Book Reviews in Databases

    Reviews of books are available in many scholarly journals through subject specific database. Most of the database allow you to limit to just book reviews.

    Book Reviews in Print Indexes

    Find these print indexes in the Reference Room on the library’s first floor. Use the volume for the year in which the book was first published or the years immediately after the initial publication date.

    Book Review Digest Reference Room Z1035.A1 B6

    1905-present. Lists and provides excerpts of book reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and general periodicals from the U.S., Canada, and Great Britain. Entries are under author's last name. A short description of the book, a full citation to locate the full text, and excerpts from 3-4 book reviews appear under each entry.

    Book Review Index Reference Room Z1035.A1 B5

    1965-present. Provides citations to reviews of books, periodicals, and books-on-tape from over 600 general interest and scholarly publications. Arranged alphabetically by author’s last name; there is no subject approach. No summaries or excerpts of the reviews are included.

    The New York Times Index Reference Room AI21 .N44

    1851-2001. Includes citations to all reviews in The New York Times Book Review section; listed in the index alphabetically by title under the Book Reviews subject heading.

    Highlighted Books