LibGuides: Mathematics: Finding Resources

Math Reference Collection

Princeton Companion to Mathematics
Call Number: QA11.2 .P745 2008
This is a one-of-a-kind reference for anyone with a serious interest in mathematics. Introduces basic mathematical tools and vocabulary, explains essential terms and concepts, examines core ideas in major areas of mathematics, and more!
*This book is also available as an online e-book*
Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
Call Number: QA47 .S695 2003
An indispensable, up-to-date resource that helps you find the equations, tables, and formulae you need most often.

The Library's Reference Collection provides books for use in the library to help you with definitions, facts, figures, formulas and more. Here are a few of the most useful items:

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Call Number: QA5 .W45 1999
Comprehensive guide to mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references.
Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics
From algebra to number theory, statistics to mechanics, this versatile and completely updated reference takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics. Includes more than 3,700 entries, supported by explanatory diagrams and biographies of more than 200 key figures.
*This books is available online as an e-book*

Educational Videos

Films on Demand provides films that are time-indexed for showing in the classroom or posting online for your students. You can choose an entire film, or a section or chapter of a film to view. There are over 140 films related to mathematics to share with your students!

Article Databases

The following databases are particularly useful for finding articles about mathematics:

JSTOR
Access the full-text of 300+ mathematics journals from the earliest volumes to the most recent 3-5 years.
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is the world's largest digital library of education literature. Search here for journal articles and other materials on mathematics education.
Google Scholar
Searches a large volume of scholarly publications on all topics. Check out this video to see how to set your preferences to get full text access to articles off campus and to limit your search to mathematical materials.

Books & More in the Library

One of the best ways to find books in the UWSP Library is to use Browse Search → By subject, which are like tags. Click on some of the common mathematics subjects below to see our holdings.

Featured Resource

How to Succeed in College Mathematics
Call Number: QA11.2 .D34 2008
Among the many topics featured in this vital guide from a veteran college mathematics professor are: improving problem solving skills, satisfying prerequisites, reading the textbook, learning symbolic form, writing mathematics, managing assignments and getting the most out of class.