LibGuides: How to Find Pro Con Information Sources: Home

Basic Topical Information Sources

For an indepth report on many current issues, try starting with a search in CQ Researcher.

CQ Researcher Online (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A weekly publication with in-depth reports on current and controversial issues.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find information and opinions on today's hottest social issues. Entries include topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites on a wide variety of current topics.
What Everyone Needs to Know This link opens in a new window
A collection of ebooks focused on complex current event issues and countries, spanning across disciplines including politics, economics, sciences, and religion.

Reference Books

The Reference area in CCC 104 includes select materials that might be used to support a pro-con argument. A few books related specifically to current social, political or ethical issues are listed below.

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics by Ruth Chadwick (Editor-In-Chief); Dan Callahan (Editor); Peter Singer (Editor)
Call Number: REF BJ63 .E69 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Global Social Issues: an encyclopedia by Christopher G. Bates and James Ciment, editors
Call Number: Ref H41 .G56
Publication Date: 2013

Indexes and Databases

Use the following sources to find articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Academic Search Ultimate (full text) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary article database providing information across all areas of academic study.
MasterFILE Complete (Full text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text articles on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health, education and current events. Provided by Badgerlink
U.S. Newsstream (1980-) This link opens in a new window
Current and archival to 1980s with key national and regional sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune as well as over 80 Gannett titles including the Stevens Point Journal, and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.
Supplied by Badgerlink
Newspaper Source Plus (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and full text coverage of major newspapers such as The New York Times, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post and staff articles from many other newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Minneapolis Star Tribune, the Wisconsin State Journal and other Wisconsin regional newspapers. Provided by Badgerlink

Find Additional Databases

Websites

Use these publicly available, reliable websites to bolster your arguments.

How to Find Pro Con Information Sources

Search Credo Reference

Search Reference Universe

Basic Topical Information Sources

Reference Books

Indexes and Databases

Websites