The Libraries have many resources which can be included in your course in Canvas. You can link directly to almost any online library resource, including databases, journal articles, eBooks, scanned book chapters, and streaming videos.

The Libraries can also integrate instruction into Canvas by creating a course-specific guide or online video tutorials. You can even add a librarian to your course to assist students with library research.

Want to learn more? Contact the Reference Desk for more information librefd@uwsp.edu​.

Persistent Links

Often including library resources in your Canvas course site is as simple as including a link. When linking to library resources make sure to follow these guidelines:

• Use a persistent link. A persistent connects directly to a specific article or journal. They are also known as permalinks, durable links or stable links. In most library resources a persistent link option will be present for you to copy and paste.
• Make sure the proxy information is included in the persistent link, so that off campus users are able to access the resource. The proxy information will prompt a login to authenticate a UWSP user either within the URL or through prepending the proxy information.
  A couple of examples:
  • UWSP embedded: https://uwsp.kanopy.com/video/american-experience-midwife-s-tale
  • Prepended proxy: http://login.ezproxy.uwsp.edu/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=102962&xtid=192000

For assistance constructing a link, please contact the Reference Desk at  librefd@uwsp.edu​.

Streaming Video

The Libraries subscribe to several streaming video packages that are accessible via Search@UW or our Online Video Collections guide. Some video collections (Films on Demand, Docuseek2, Alexander Street Press) provide unlimited use for an annual subscription. Others (Swank, Kanopy) charge on an annual basis for each selected title.  

If a film is not already available via the Libraries, you may submit a purchase request. We will make every attempt to find a copy with an institutional streaming license.

If a film is not available in a streaming format the Libraries may be able to make a local streaming version, provided the Libraries already have the DVD in our collection. The digitized version can only be used in Canvas with a UWSP login.

For assistance, please contact the Reference Desk at  librefd@uwsp.edu​.

​Troubleshooting

Streaming videos are sometimes not accessible from all browsers and/or devices. In general, we suggest trying a different browser, such as Chrome or Firefox, or a different device if you have problems. ​You can also find some specific troubleshooting tips in our Online Video guide.

Customized Course Guides in Canvas

Are you interested in integrating library resources into your teaching and research assignments? A library course guide can be a very valuable tool for helping your students successfully identify and use library resources.

We would be happy to set up a library guide for your course. The guide can be as simple as some basic library resources in your discipline, such as encyclopedias, journals and databases. If you would prefer more customization, just share your syllabus with us, or contact us with information about your specialized needs and we'll customize the resources included to your research assignments.

Direct Linking

We can include direct links to:

• Databases that index articles or resources in your discipline
  • For example: PsycInfo
• Core journals in your discipline
  • For example: Ecology
• Specific articles in library electronic databases
  • For example: Here To Help: One Thing You Can Do to Counteract Climate Change from The New York Times
• Or other resources such as streaming videos, websites, or online citation guides.

Search Boxes

We can embed search boxes to a variety of library resources for quick and easy searching:

• Search@UW
• Credo Reference
• Films on Demand
• Google Scholar

Examples of discipline-based subject guides:

• Biology
• Children’s and Young Adult Literature
• Music

Examples of assignment-based course guides:

• ECON 324: Economics of Health Care
• FCS 190: Exploring Family and Consumer Sciences
• SOC 301/SW 381: Death, Dying, Loss and Grief

Copyright Considerations

Please view our guide about copyrights, which includes information on the TEACH Act and other copyright law for online education.

More Information

For more information or to request a course guide contact your Library Liaison.​​