Focusing on key works of late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century American literary realism, Phillip Barrish traces the emergence of new ways of gaining intellectual prestige - that is, new ways of gaining cultural recognition as unusually intelligent, sensitive or even wise.
Artistic Liberties is a landmark study of the illustrations that originally accompanied now-classic works of American literary realism and the ways editors, authors, and illustrators vied for authority over the publications.
"Realism": toward a definition -- Three sensibilities: romancer, realist, naturalist -- The Batrachomyomachia & American fiction -- Native sources -- Huckleberry Finn by common day -- "The wizard hand": Hawthorne, 1864-1900 -- The Howells nobody knows -- Howells & Crane: violence, decorum, & reality -- The Virginian -- Teacher's choice.
The body and the corporation: Norris, Chambers -- Double consciousness: Johnson, Chesnutt, Du Bois, Washington -- Pioneering women: Austin, Eaton, Stein, Eliot, Williams, Cather -- Performing maleness: Hemingway -- Colored me: Toomer, Hurston, and many more
A detailed bibliography and index to journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Provides basic information about active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publications, and monographic series published throughout the world, plus thousands of newpapers.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
Reference e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles across a wide range of disciplines.
An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
An archive of entries from ten literary criticism series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism and Children's Literature Review.
A detailed bibliography and index to journal articles, books and dissertations on the subjects of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
Includes the complete contents of the Second Edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, additional volumes published from 1993-97 and quarterly releases. Each entry contains the word's etymology, definition, part of speech, date of origination, pronunciation, cross-references, and quotations.
Spanning from 1865 to 1902, The Gilded Age provides primary documents on key issues that shaped America in the late nineteenth century, including race and ethnicity, immigration, labor, women's rights, American Indians, political corruption, and monetary policy.
Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Encyclopedia of American Literature
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
This link opens in a new window