History Department: History 300

Article Databases by Subject

Select "History" as Subject area, then search each database individually, such as:

§  Finding more books > Search other Library Catalogs

Research citation is essential to student research at the undergraduate level and beyond. A large focus of History 300 is learning how to cite the materials you used for your research so that you or your reader can quickly and efficiently look up the documents you studied. The discipline of history, unlike English (MLA) or Psychology (APA), uses the Chicago Manual of Style (the version of Chicago used by most universities is called 'Turabian' for that version's emphasis on student research) Below is a link that is a great online resources to provide quick reference for work citation.

History 300, methods and skills of history, is designed to give history students the necessary research and writing tools to advance into the upper levels of the history major. This page offers a collection of helpful links and resources to make navigating the UWSP library and online database research a lot easier and more efficient.

The Library of Congress subject heading is a great tool for finding resources with similar themes. When you are searching for materials, always write down the LOC subject headings (found at the bottom of the library catalog page), as it will help you find more materials listed on the same topic. The LOC heading contains all other materials that a library owns that fit under that heading. For example, a LOC heading can be either very broad, such as "United States, Maps" or very specific "War crime trials, Manila, 1946"

The UWSP Library has at its disposal a collection of primary source microfilm that would add greatly to a resarch paper. A microfilm is a film (like a movie reel) with hundreds of pages of photo-copied documents that have been shrunk so little a special machine in the library is required to read them. Microflim documents relevant to history are on the 6th floor of the UWSP library just outside the southeast stairwell. To use the machine, just ask the librarian in the 6th floor office for assistance. Below is a sample of the types of microfilm documents found. For a complete list, speak with your History 300 professor;

Wisconsin Territorial Papers, 1836-1848
History of US Forces in Korea
Malcolm X: FBI Servillence File
Letters sent by Army HQ, 1828-1903

Professors are great resources - if your paper topic is related to a professor's specialty, they can point you in the direction of more primary and secondary sources. Don't hesitate to stop by their offices during open office hours or to schedule an appointment.

The following librarians are also excellent resources and are both very familiar with History 300 class requirements:

Tom Reich: Coordinator of Collection Development/Acquisitions, Reference and Instruction.
Office 207, Ext. 4200
treich@uwsp.edu
______________

Kyle Neill: Instruction and Digital Archivist.
Office 520A, Ext. 2586
kneill@uwsp.edu

Archives are an essental part of any library, and being able to use them is an important goal of History 300. The archives in UWSP library is also designated as an Area Reseach Center, which means it has a wealth of central Wisconsin primary source documents. Below is a link to the UWSP archives homepage which also has links to more great resources.

Questions about this page can be directed to Tom Reich (treich@uwsp.edu)