LibGuides: History Department: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the UWSP Department of History LibGuide homepage. This page is designed to provide students with the resources to efficiently navigate the vast supplies of information in the UWSP Library and on the Internet. This LibGuide is organized in tabs, each tab providing a unique set of resources, links or learning tools related to the heading listed.

Historical Newspapers

Guide to Historical Newspapers

Also, see box listing on lower center of this guide >

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest - Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus.

HeritageQuest Online This link opens in a new window
Combines searchable text and images of all federal censuses (1790-1930), Revolutionary War records, African-American history, genealogy and local history monographs, and portions of the U.S. Serial Set. Provided by Badgerlink
Badgerlink

Ancestry: Library Edition
Genealogical research database that includes the U.S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1940; the Map Center; American Genealogical Biographical Index; Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage; Federal Slave Narratives; and a strong Civil War collection.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Article Databases by Subject

Select "History" as Subject area, then search each database individually, such as:

Academic Search Ultimate (full text) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary article database providing information across all areas of academic study.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life with Full Text is the definitive research database covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes hundreds of full-text history journals, plus useful features such as the ability to search by time period.
JSTOR (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
Project Muse (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Humanities International Complete (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books in the humanities, including all data from Humanities International Index. Provided by Badgerlink
History Reference Center (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
A full text history reference database designed for schools and public libraries. Provided by Badgerlink
Badgerlink

Historic Newspapers

New York Times, 1851-2014 (ProQuest - Full Text)
Provides comprehensive indexing, full text and images for articles since its launch in 1851. Includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. More recent years are available through Newspaper Source Plus or Lexis/Nexis Academic databases.

NewspaperARCHIVE (Full text)
Includes fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns, providing genealogy, history, culture and newsworthy events in a local context. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700's. Provided by Badgerlink
Accessible Archives (Full Text)
Primary source materials from 18th and 19th Century Publications. Includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical information.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Full Text)
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 (Full Text)
Historically significant 18th, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including big-city dailies, regional publications. Includes William Lloyd Garrison's The Liberator, and the North Star founded by Frederick Douglass; aka Early American Newspapers.
African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Full Text)
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1, 1684-1820 The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection: 1691-1820 presents over 500 titles from 1691 through 1820. Representing over two centuries of print culture from early colonial imports to titles published on American soil during the Revolution and early republic.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837) The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The subject matter covered in Series 2 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope and includes agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852) The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 presents over 1,800 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865) The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection - Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912) The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories.