A sample of the thousands of digitized federal primary sources available on the web.
American Memory Project Thousands of primary sources covering diverse subjects such as African American History, environmentalism, immigration, Native American History, religion, women's history, and much more. (Library of Congress)
Avalon Project Hundreds of documents from throughout the world that relate to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government dating from ancient times through the 21st Century, including the Code of Hammurabi, Magna Carta, Stamp Act and the 9/11 Commission Report. (Yale Law Library)
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 (National Archives)
Federalist Papers (Library of Congress. Thomas Website and the e-text archives of Project Gutenberg)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) The official documentary record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity (Office of the Historian, Bureau of Public Affairs, United States Department of State)
History Matters Includes primary sources, copyright information,
Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, 1904. Produced by Oklahoma State University Library. Digital Publications, Stillwater, Oklahoma, 1997)
One Hundred Milestone Documents The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965. (National Archives)
Collections cover Wisconsin history, U.S.
history and the early exploration of North
America by Europeans.
University of Wisconsin Digital Center (UWDC) Collections span a range of subjects, including but not limited to, public documents of the State of Wisconsin, Wisconsin pioneer experiences, Aldo Leopold, Great Lakes Maritime history, Gay People's Union, women's history, and military experiences.
Wisconsin Historical Society Digital Collections A diverse collection of digital primaries covering Wisconsin and North American History. Of particular note:
o Turning Point in Wisconsin History Hundreds of eyewitness accounts covering pre-European settlement through the Twentieth Century.
o Freedom's Journal The first African-American owned and operated newspaper published in the United States, 1827-1829.
o American Journeys Eighteen thousand pages of eyewitness accounts of North American explorers such as Lewis and Clark and Daniel Boone.
o History of UWSP
o UWSP Yearbooks
The Library has many digitized historical newspapers, journals and magazines (as a group called periodicals) covering international, national, state, and local news over varied time periods. A sample of subject areas covered:
NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL COVERAGE:
· Accessible Archives (African-American, Civil War, regional and women’s periodicals)
· African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 and African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
· American Historical Newspapers including Early American Newspapers, 1690-1922
· EthnicWatch
· Historic American Newspapers: Chronicling America, 1836-1922
· Proquest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, 1851-2008
· The Times (London), 1785-1985
· Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
STATE & LOCAL COVERAGE:
· NewspaperARCHIVE, international to local coverage, time periods covered vary greatly from paper to paper
· Stevens Point Journal – Newsbank Index (no full text – come to the Archives for papers), 2003 to date
· Stevens Point Journal Index (no full text – come to the Archives for papers), 1992-2005
· Pointer Index (some full text is available, come to the Archives for non-digitized papers), 1895 to date