LibGuides: Art and Design: Home

ARTstor

ARTstor
A searchable database of over 700,000 digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images

Finding Articles

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles in the arts and humanities, including times cited information
A subset of Web of Knowledge
Black Drama, 1850-present This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print.
Humanities International Complete (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books in the humanities, including all data from Humanities International Index. Provided by Badgerlink
JSTOR (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An archival full-text journal database which includes coverage in the arts, humanities, social sciences, life sciences, ethnic studies. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue.
Project Muse (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Three multidisciplinary citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Provides detailed times cited information.

Suggested Books

Landscape Painting
Call Number: +ND1343 .B8813 2006
ISBN: 9780789209023
Publication Date: 2006
An Illustrated Life: Drawing Inspiration from the Private Sketchbooks of Artists, Illustrators and Designers
Call Number: NC53 .G74 2008
ISBN: 9781600610868
Publication Date: 2008
Fundamentals of Theatrical Designs
Call Number: PN2091.S8 B6675 2011
ISBN: 9781581158496
Publication Date: 2011

Reference Books

The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art
Call Number: Ref N6505. G76 2011
ISBN: 0195335791
Publication Date: 2011
Theater Careers: A Realistic Guide
Call Number: Ref HF5382.5 .D66 2012
ISBN: 9781611170801
Publication Date: 2012

Art and Design

Subject Guide

Other UWSP Library Services

ARTstor

Finding Articles

Suggested Books

Reference Books