Art and Design

With over 16 million items in its continually growing collections, the Archives is the world’s largest and most widely used resource dedicated to collecting and preserving the papers and primary records of the visual arts in America.

University of Wisconsin Digital Collection

With images from over 8,000 collections and more than 29,000 artists, Bridgeman is a source for fine art, cultural and historical images from international museums, galleries and artists, serving as a central source of fine art for image users

Housed in the mansion of Andrew Carnegie, this museum focuses on historic and contemporary design.

This collection includes over 80,000 digitized images of prints, drawings, paintings, textiles, and 3-dimentional artwork that comprise the de Young and Legion of Honor museums. Users may browse by artist, title, or subject matter. Source: Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.

The Library's book and photograph collections relate mainly to paintings, drawings, sculpture, and prints from the fourth to the mid-twentieth centuries by European and American artists. Known internationally for its rich holdings of auction and exhibition catalogs, the Library is a leading site for collecting and provenance research. Archival materials and special collections augment the research collections with documents pertaining to the history of collecting art and of Henry Clay Frick's collecting in particular. Source: The Frick Collection.

Users may search among images of paintings, sculpture, furniture, porcelain, works on paper, enamels, textiles, clocks, silver, and gilt bronzes. The option of zooming in on the image is also provided, giving the user a clear and crisp image.

Explore 17 museums of art from around the world.

MetPublications is a portal to the Met’s comprehensive publishing program. Beginning with nearly 650 titles published from 1964 to the present including exhibition catalogues, collection catalogues, and guides to the collections

With a history dating back to 1888, the Milwaukee Art Museum’s Collection includes nearly 25,000 works from antiquity to the present, encompassing painting, drawing, sculpture, decorative arts, prints, video art and installations, and textiles. The Museum’s collections of American decorative arts, German Expressionist prints and paintings, folk and Haitian art, and American art after 1960 are among the nation’s finest. The Museum is in the process of adding to the works of art included on the site and update information whenever possible

Includes recent exhibitions, profiles of modern artists, full-text essays on recent exhibitions.

The Rijksmuseum has carefully organized its digital collection for ease of use by both veteran art lovers and casual browsers. Home page links include Explore the Collection, Search the Collection, and Try the Master Matcher. Collection capabilities allow users to reorganize, analyze, and interpret the collection in a variety of ways, thus adding a component of interactivity. The Master Matcher is an engaging option that asks viewers to complete a short quiz, and then matches them with artists that would be a good fit--serving almost as a personal curator. Source: A. M. Iuliano, Florida International University

Every work in the collection has its own page, most illustrated with good quality images. Watch slideshows, browse, search, follow themes and learn about artworks and art movements. Source: tate.org.uk

The Cal State image project contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery

This site provides an alphabetical list of over 200 artists, both well-known and obscure, with examples of their work; to date, approximately 2300 images.

A guide to museum-quality art on the Internet. This is a great place to start looking for art on the web that includes a search option by name, title, and art institution. Users may also browse by artists and art movements.

This easy-to-use, selective site contains links by category (History, Material Culture, Religion, Jobs, etc.)

The CAMEO database compiles, defines and distributes technical information on terms, materials and techniques used in art conservation and historic preservation. It is browsable and searchable by material name and other characteristics (such as density or melting point). Some entries contain images. The site also includes a searchable conservation organization directory.

An archive of policy-relevant data on culture and the arts. Users may access current and past research, such as public opinion, city-specific data, and statistics pertaining to the arts.

Resources are broken down into:
• Data sets
• A literature database (monographs, serials, reports, papers, proceedings, articles and books)
• Research guides
• Other CPANDA resources (i.e. tips for evaluating studies, glossary of statistics terms, etc.)

A directory website established by the Library of Congress that includes a list of links pertaining to: Performing arts libraries and research aids, periodical indexes, doctoral dissertations, obituaries and necrologies, dance sites, theater sites, opera, film music, church music, music organizations, music industry sites, music publishers’ sites, copyright information, sheet music sites, and song lyrics.

This site offers resources on the long and storied past of this performing art. The home page for the site features links to a script archive, a Today in Theatre History section, a featured topic index. The topics are further broken down by cateogries and articles.

AICT is a royalty-free image exchange resource for the educational community

A gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture. Source: Interactive Paradigms Incorporated.