LibGuides: ENGL 150: "Argumentative Research Essay" (Williams): Home

Primary Sources

Current magazines

Flipster E-magazines This link opens in a new window
Popular magazines in an easy to browse, online format.

Films

SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to over 1,000 feature films. Requires Swank Digital Campus app to view on mobile devices. Contact the library to request additional films.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy features award-winning documentaries, training films, feature films and film shorts. Contact the library or use the supplied form to request films for your course. Public performance rights are available for some titles.

Advertisements

Vintage Ad Browser
With more than 120,000 images, this site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources including comic books, websites, submissions, books, and magazines.

Images

Library of Congress This link opens in a new window
The world's largest library and home of online historical collections which include maps & photographs; letters, diaries & newspapers; as well as audio and video accounts of historical events. Home of the papers of many famous Americans from George Washington to Rosa Parks.
ARTstor (Digital Images) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching

Websites

Internet Archive Wayback Machine

Search@UW (articles, books, and more)

Reference Books

UWSP Library owns more than 8,000 reference books located in the Reference Room on 1st floor. To find reference books, use Search@UW and apply the filter Location>Reference.

International Encyclopedia of Media Effects
Call Number: P 87.5 .I583 2017 Reference Room (1st floor)
Encyclopedia of Family Studies
Call Number: HQ 728 .W535 2016 Reference Room (1st floor)
Boy Culture
Call Number: BF 692.5 .B69 2010 Reference Room (1st floor)
Sage Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender
Call Number: BF 692.2 .S234 2017 Reference Room (1st floor)

Salem Press E-books (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Online reference sources covering in a variety of disciplines including historical coverage of Decades and Milestone Documents in American history.
Credo Reference (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and subject-specific titles across a wide range of disciplines.

Ebooks

UWSP Library provides access to thousands of ebooks. Click here to search ebook databases.

Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
Offering content across all subject areas, Ebook Central Academic Complete includes over 150,000 titles from hundreds of major academic publishers worldwide.
Project Muse (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Wiley Online Library (Full Text) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in journals in the sciences, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane 0Library for evidence-based medicine. Includes access to over 14,000 e-books.

Journal Articles

Academic Search Ultimate (full text) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary article database providing information across all areas of academic study.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (Full Text) This link opens in a new window Articles covering communication, including mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, speech, broadcasting, communication theory and advertising.
GenderWatch (Full Text) This link opens in a new window A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas including business, education, culture, health, history, political science, and gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other reports and proceedings.
Project Muse (Full Text) This link opens in a new window Provides full-text access to scholarly arts, humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals. Topics covered: literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
Wiley Online Library (Full Text) This link opens in a new window Search for articles in journals in the sciences, laboratory manuals and the Cochrane 0Library for evidence-based medicine. Includes access to over 14,000 e-books.

Google Scholar

Link Google Scholar to UWSP Libraries
Follow these directions to link Google Scholar to the UWSP Libraries for finding full-text scholarly articles for free.