Skip to main content
UWSP Libraries
Ask A Librarian:
Chat:
Email:
Text:

HPHD 420: Health Promotion Management (Scovill): Home

Primary Source Research Articles

In the scineces, a primary source is the original publication of new data, research or theories.  Examples include: experimental studies, clinical trials, opinion surveys

Typically, primary research articles are published in peer-reviewed journal articles with standardized sections, including

  • Literature Review
  • description of Methods
  • tables of Data
  • summary of Results or formal Conclusion.  

Need help deciding if an article is published in a peer-reviewed journal?  Use this table of characteristics to help you decide.

Citation Tracking

Backward Citation Tracking: Looking at an article's works cited list provides a snapshot of the research that was available at the time of publication and will provide you with a wealth of related sources.

Forward Citation Tracking: Looking to see if a source has been cited by others will help you determine its importance and will identify other, more current sources.  Look for "times cited" or "cited by" in tools such as Biological Abstracts and Google Scholar.

Library Links in Google Scholar

To link Google Scholar to UWSP Libraries Resources:

  • Go to scholar.google.com
  • Click the menu icon at the top left corner of the page
  • Click Library links in the left column 
  • Enter University of Wisconsin Stevens Point in the search box 
  • Click the search button 
  • After searching, check the box next to University of Wisconsin Stevens Point – Find It! 
  • Click the Save button
  • Now when you search in Google Scholar, a Find It! link should appear next to results
  • Click the Find It! link to search for the full-text at UWSP Library 
  • If you don’t see a Find It! link for your citation, try clicking Request a Copy

Recommended Databases to Find Articles

Subject databases can be a good place to find topic-specific, primary research articles. For topics relating to health promotion programming these health and business databases are recommended.

Tips:

  • To narrow your search to primary research articles add the "peer-reviewed" limit. In addition, try the "research" limit under publication type.
  • To narrow your search to current articles use the date limit for more recent articles.
  • Once a relevant article is found, look at the subject headings for alternative search terms.
  • Try combining these suggested search terms with your more specific topic area (i.e., tobacco cessation, nutrition, physical fitness, etc.)
    • health promotion
    • wellness
    • occupational health services
    • wellness programs
    • employee incentive programs
    • work environment

Tips for Finding Books

Use the Search@UW box above to search for books. Limit specifically to books by using the "books" resource type on the  left side of the search results. Or use the "Books & Media (UWSP)" or "Books & Media (UW System)" scopes.

Try combining these suggested search terms with your more specific topic area (i.e., tobacco cessation, nutrition, physical fitness, etc.

  • employee health promotion
  • health behavior
  • health promotion
  • industrial medicine
  • industrial hygiene
  • occupational health
  • occupational health services
  • occupational medicine
  • program development
  • public health

In addition, try browsing the shelf using these call number ranges:

  • RA 427.8 (Health Promotion)
  • RA 440-124 2 (Public Health -- Study and Teaching. Research)
  • RC 969 (Industrial Hygiene, Occupational Health)

Citing your Sources

Check out the Library's Citation Guide for help citing sources correctly.

Linking to Articles

Persistent LInkCaution: If you are saving a URL link to access an article from a library database at another time DO NOT copy the link in the top address bar of the browser. Look within the database record for something called a persistent link or permalink. These links will last over time.