The Europa World Year Book. [REF 1st flr] JN1 .E85 An authoritative reference work including detailed information on the political, economic and commercial institutions of the world.
The Statesman’s Yearbook [REF 1st flr] JA 51 .S7 Briefer entries than Europa, but includes country snapshots with historical information, population,government systems, economy, trade and culture.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations [REF – 1st flr] G63 .W67 This 6-vol set contains the geography, history, politics and economics of countries.
BBC Country Profiles Includes history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
CIA World Factbook Information about countries worldwide, including literacy rates, land area, forms of government, and much more.
Country Commercial Guides Detailed business reports written for each country by the U.S. Commercial Service. Includes analysis about the business environment.
Economist - The Economist, a magazine dedicated to World Politics, compiles news and political information on countries. For current country information, this is a good source to check out.
GlobalEDGE Select a country and the "Resources" in the left column for links to that country's government resources--includes statistics, labor regulations, costs, etc.
Global Competitiveness Report - Download latest report from the World Economic Forum. Large file (search within doc for country).
Library of Congress-Country Studies Provides a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. These reports are comprehensive but they may contain older information so check the date published.
ParLine Contains information on the structure and working methods of 261 parliamentary chambers in all of the 186 countries where a national legislature exists. Includes information on recent elections.
Pew Research Center - Global Attitudes & Trends