LibGuides: Geography: Maps

Online Map Resources

Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps – Wisconsin provides digital access to 1348 large-scale maps of 273 Wisconsin towns and cities, including Amherst, Stevens Point, Wausau, Waupaca, Marshfield, Madison, Milwaukee, Green Bay, and many others.

Historic USGS Topographic Maps of Wisconsin
Digitized versions of large and small-scale USGS topographical maps for Wisconsin, dating back to the early 1900's. Hosted by UWDC (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections).
Maps and Atlases at the Wisconsin Historical Society
Thousands of 19th century and earlier historical maps, featuring Wisconsin, the U.S., and Canada. Viewable online.
Original Field Notes and Plat Maps for Wisconsin.
The original field notes and plat maps (1833-1866) and
Resurvey Maps (1858-2009) for the land now known as Wisconsin. From the Board of Commissioners of Public Lands, hosted by UWDC (The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections).
David Rumsey Map Collection
One of the largest collections of historical maps online, with a focus on rare maps from the 18th and 19th century.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collections
Thousands of digitized maps on a variety of topics, from locations across the globe. Many of the maps available for viewing online. Hosted by the University of Texas at Austin.
American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection
About 3,000 digitized maps from the collections of the American Geographical Society Library. Hosted by the University of Wisconsin Milwaukee (UWM Libraries).

University Map Center

The University Map Center is a depository for maps and charts of the U.S. Geological Survey and the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA). The University Map Center is located in Room B304 of the Science Building and is administrated by the UWSP Department of Geography/Geology and is open to use by the university community, as well as by the public. During the academic year the Map Center is open on a regular basis (a schedule is posted near the Map Center entrance).

The collection includes:

U.S. Geological Survey topographic maps of Wisconsin, and the other forty-nine states and territories, and some Canadian topographic maps.
Selected road maps of the United States and Canada.
Urban maps of selected Wisconsin cities.
U.S. Geological Survey maps of the geology of selected areas of the United States.
Aeronautical charts of the world.
Oceanographical and navigational maps.
The American Geographical Society map series on Latin America.
Miscellaneous maps of Wisconsin, the world, and of outer space made by various mapping agencies.
Selected aerial photographs and mosaics of central Wisconsin.
Gazetteers and atlases.
CD/DVD-based digital map files (e.g., U.S. Census TIGER files 1992, 1997, 2000).
DeLorme 3D-Topo Quads (all of U.S).