LibGuides: Finding Videos: Online Video Collections

Online Video Subscriptions - General Interest Documentaries

Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides online access to educational videos and video clips across a wide range of academic disciplines. Public Performance Rights available for all titles.
SWANK Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to over 1,000 feature films. Requires Swank Digital Campus app to view on mobile devices. Contact the library to request additional films.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy features award-winning documentaries, training films, feature films and film shorts. Contact the library or use the supplied form to request films for your course. Public performance rights are available for some titles.
Docuseek Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Docuseek Complete provides documentary films on essential independent, social-issue and environmental topics.
Alexander Street Press Videos This link opens in a new window
Search across all Alexander Street Press video collections on a wide range of topics including American history, sociology, and religion. We do not subscribe to films labelled as Sample.
PBS Video Collection (ASP) This link opens in a new window
Over 1,600 videos including episodes from PBS series NOVA, Nature, American Experience, Art 21, Ken Burns and Frontline.

FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection This link opens in a new window
Historic newsreels, archival clips from notable films and other documentary material
LGBT Studies in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window
A subscription collection with films on the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda) This link opens in a new window
Training courses and online videos covering software, technology, business, management, data science and other creative skills.
Nursing and Mental Health in Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window
A symptom media collection with short videos that portray common mental health disorders nurses may encounter – whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
PBS Wisconsin Documentaries This link opens in a new window
A series of documentary films from Wisconsin Public Broadcasting that capture the people, places, and events that contribute to Wisconsin's culture
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 -- Video (ASP) This link opens in a new window
This video collection documents key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America

Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
A subscription with full length British theatre productions from Shakespeare to contemporary plays, as well as interviews with cast and crew.
Metropolitan Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
Streaming video of more than 600 full length performances from the Metropolitan Opera.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of high definition streaming video of world-class productions offered through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre

Troubleshooting Online Video Links

Online video links may not always work as expected. Try the following troubleshooting tips, and if the issue persists, https://www3.uwsp.edu/library/Pages/askUs.aspx

Off-Campus Access: Make sure the link includes UWSP authentication (e.g., “uwsp” in the URL or a format like https://login.ezproxy.uwsp.edu/login?url=http://digital.films.com./PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=7768&xtid=32432).
Browser Compatibility:
- SWANK Films: Best viewed in Chrome.
- Kanopy and Others: May have issues in Internet Explorer.
- Campus Computers: Default is Microsoft Edge; Chrome is available via a program search, and Firefox can be downloaded from the Microsoft Service Center. If you need help installing another browser, contact the IT Service Desk at 715-346-4357.
Mobile Devices:
- SWANK Films: Require the Digital Campus app on mobile devices.
- Kanopy Films: Require an account for mobile viewing.
- Recommendation: For best results, use a desktop computer.
Microsoft Products: Links opened from Word or PowerPoint may lose authentication details. Copy and paste the URL directly into your browser instead.

Still having trouble? Contact the Library Reference Desk for further assistance.