Skip to main content
UWSP Libraries
Ask A Librarian:
Chat:
Email:
Text:

How to Use Search@UW: Home

Introducing Search@UW

Search@UW is a new tool that lets you search for books, articles, and more using one simple search box.

Referred to as a "discovery layer" - Search@UW pulls content from existing resources into one convenient search interface.

What's in Search@UW?

Books, videos, sound recordings, scores, and more from UWSP

Books, videos, sound recordings, scores, and more from UW System libraries

Articles and more from most of the UWSP databases

Course reserves at UWSP

- Government documents

- Archival materials

Digital collections such as the University of Wisconsin Digital CollectionsMinds@UW, and the Hathi Trust

 

Video: What is Search@UW?

Search@UW at a Glance

Search@UW

When to use Search@UW?

If you want to find books and articles using one search.

If you want to do a broad, multidisciplinary search.

If you want to use a variety of information sources.

If you need books or media that UWSP owns.

If you need books or media that another UW System library owns. 

When NOT to use Search@UW?

Current events (Search@UW updated only weekly. Individual databases, such as Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis), updated faster
Regional, state and local newspapers.  Instead use a newspaper databases such as NewspaperARCHIVE .

Historical New York Times

Specialized non-article/book databases (e.g. Naxos Music Library).

If you want to do a more focused search for articles. Use the Databases by Subject or Databases A-Z link on the library website instead.

If you need to use a specific database or one geared towards a particular subject area you can search from the Find Databases link on the library website instead.

If you need an article from a specific journal. Or want to browse a specific journal. Use the Journal Titles A-Z link on the library website instead.

If you need a book that is not owned by UWSP or another UW System Library. Use Worldcat instead.

Consult the Finding the Search Tool that Fits Your Research Needs page of this guide for more details.